Search catalogue


Welcome, Andreas Haefliger!
BIS Records is delighted to announce the start of an important new collaboration with the renowned pianist...
Read more


BIS Records to release four SACDs with Norwegian violinist Eldbjørg Hemsing,
with support from the Göhde Foundation...
Read more

Beethoven - Complete works for solo piano, Vol. 14

Composer Ludwig van Beethoven
Performer Ronald Brautigam
Period Classical
Catalogue Number BIS-1942 SACD
EAN 7318599919423
Format SACD Hybrid

This hybrid disc plays on both CD and SACD players
SACD Surround - SACD Stereo - CD Stereo

Release date Nov 2015
Total time 62'58

Ludwig van Beethoven’s first printed work was a set of variations – published in 1783 when he was only twelve years old – and his final keyboard composition was the massive set of thirty-three variations on a theme by Anton Diabelli, composed almost four decades later. Not counting the several movements in variation form included in the sonatas, his twenty-one sets of piano variations thus trace a line of development in his production, parallel to those formed by the 32 piano sonatas or the 16 string quartets. On this the 14th volume in his acclaimed traversal of Beethoven's keyboard music, Ronald Brautigam performs five sets, composed between 1802 and 1809. In three of these Beethoven uses themes of his own, including the Ruins of Athens Variations, Op.76, nick-named after the play for which Beethoven later wrote incidental music, reusing the martial theme in a 'Turkish march'. The two remaining sets both use English themes; Beethoven’s choice of God save the King and Rule Britannia may well reflect his often expressed respect for that country – as well as his interest in the English market for sheet music. As the final part of the programme, Brautigam includes a selection of smaller pieces, most of them of an earlier date than the preceding variations. Some of these are probably student pieces, in particular the Preludes Op.39 and WoO 55 and the Fugue in C major, fruits of the counterpoint exercises Beethoven was assigned by his first teacher, Christian Gottlob Neefe, and by Johann Albrechtsberger. Six dances close a disc that offers many opportunities to glimpse another Beethoven than the composer we all believe we know.
Choose format
  Ludwig van Beethoven
  Sechs Variationen über ein eigenes Thema in F major, Op.34 (1802) 13'21
01 Thema 1'39
02 Var.1 1'32
03 Var.2 1'02
04 Var.3 1'13
05 Var.4 1'17
06 Var.5 1'54
07 Var.6 4'44
  Sieben Variationen über „God save the King“ in C major, WoO78 (1803) 7'44
08 Thema 0'55
09 Var.1 0'43
10 Var.2 0'43
11 Var.3 0'47
12 Var.4 0'48
13 Var.5 1'11
14 Var.6 0'50
15 Var.7 1'47
  Fünf Variationen über „Rule Britannia“ in D major, WoO79 (1803) 4'17
16 Thema 0'38
17 Var.1 0'35
18 Var.2 0'34
19 Var.3 0'33
20 Var.4 0'35
21 Var.5 1'22
22 Zweiunddreißig Variationen über ein eigenes Thema in C minor, WoO80 (1806) 9'30
  Sechs Variationen in D major, Op.76 (1809) „Die Ruinen von Athen“ 5'42
23 Thema 0'37
24 Var.1 0'37
25 Var.2 0'35
26 Var.3 0'44
27 Var.4 0'43
28 Var.5 0'37
29 Var.6 1'49
  Zwei Präludien durch alle Dur-Tonarten, Op.39 (1789) 6'42
30 I. 4'31
31 II. 2'11
32 Dreistimmige Fuge in C major, Hess 64 (1795) 1'38
33 Präludium in F minor, WoO55 (1803?) 2'24
34 Menuett in F major, WoO217 (1794) 1'53
35 Allemande in A major, WoO81 (1793–94) 1'31
36 Anglaise in D major, WoO212 (1793–94) 0'38
37 Menuett in E flat major, WoO82 (1802) 3'17
38 Walzer in E flat major, WoO84 (1824) 2'05
39 Walzer in D major, WoO85 (1825) 0'35
  Album total 62'58
ComposerBeethoven, Ludwig van
FortepianoBrautigam, Ronald

© BIS Records AB | | Phone +46 (0)8 544 102-30 BIS online store - Terms and Conditions