Search catalogue


Welcome, Andreas Haefliger!
BIS Records is delighted to announce the start of an important new collaboration with the renowned pianist...
Read more


BIS Records to release four SACDs with Norwegian violinist Eldbjørg Hemsing,
with support from the Göhde Foundation...
Read more

Brahms - Piano Works Vol. 4

Composer Johannes Brahms
Performer Jonathan Plowright
Period Romantic
Catalogue Number BIS-2137 SACD
EAN 7318599921372
Format SACD Hybrid

This hybrid disc plays on both CD and SACD players
SACD Surround - SACD Stereo - CD Stereo

Release date Jan 2017
Total time 82'08

Editor's Choice, Gramophone

The theme of Paganini’s 24th Caprice for solo violin has tempted a number of composers to elaborate on it – from Liszt to Lutosławski and Andrew Lloyd Webber. In 1863, Johannes Brahms was one of the first to take on the challenge, with his virtuosic Paganini Variations. Playing the set has famously been described as requiring ‘fingers of steel, a heart of burning lava and the courage of a lion’ and possibly the demands that they place on the performer is the main reason why Brahms organized his 28 variations into two books of 14 each. For the fourth instalment in his series of Brahms’s piano music, Jonathan Plowright has chosen to place the two books at either end of the programme.
Between them we are presented with works spanning almost 40 years of Brahms’s life. Of the four Ballades from 1854, it is only for the first, the so-called ‘Edward’ Ballade, that a model in literature is known – a Scottish ballad about the murder of a father. The set has nevertheless been compared to the slow movements in Brahms’s three piano sonatas, composed around the same time, and all with literary references.
25 years later, Brahms had entered a phase where his works for piano were growing ever shorter and more concise, but with his Op. 79 Rhapsodies he made something of a return to the grandeur and passion of his early piano writing. This development was short-lived, however, and the following works for solo piano, of which the four piano pieces of Op. 119 from 1893 would be the last, have been compared to ‘the golden lustre of parks in autumn and the austere black and white of winter walks’. Previous discs in Jonathan Plowright’s survey have received critical acclaim worldwide, and the series has already been dubbed ‘the benchmark Brahms survey for some time to come’ in Gramophone.

Choose format
  Variations on a Theme by Paganini, Op. 35 Book 1 14'24
01 Thema 0'31
02 Variation I 0'28
03 Variation II 0'31
04 Variation III 0'34
05 Variation IV 1'20
06 Variation V 0'48
07 Variation VI 0'31
08 Variation VII 0'27
09 Variation VIII 0'27
10 Variation IX 1'27
11 Variation X 1'19
12 Variation XI 1'30
13 Variation XII 1'34
14 Variation XIII 0'34
15 Variation XIV 2'23
  Ballades, Op.10 24'58
16 I. Andante - Poco più moto - Allegro (ma non troppo) - Tempo I 4'53
17 II. Andante - Allegro non troppo - Tempo I 6'22
18 III. Intermezzo 4'04
19 IV. Andante con moto - Più lento - Tempo I - Adagio 9'39
  Two Rhapsodies, Op. 79 14'44
20 I. Agitato 8'43
21 II. Molto passionato, ma non troppo allegro 6'01
  Piano Pieces, Op. 119 16'11
22 I. Intermezzo. Adagio 4'28
23 II. Intermezzo. Andantino un poco agitato - Andante grazioso - Tempo primo 4'58
24 III. Intermezzo. Grazioso e giocoso 1'20
25 IV. Rhapsody. Allegro risoluto 5'25
  Variations on a Theme by Paganini, Op. 35, Book 2 11'31
26 Thema 0'29
27 Variation I 0'51
28 Variation II 0'34
29 Variation III 0'39
30 Variation IV 0'37
31 Variation V 0'29
32 Variation VI 0'25
33 Variation VII 0'23
34 Variation VIII 0'40
35 Variation IX 0'46
36 Variation X 0'47
37 Variation XI 0'34
38 Variation XII 1'14
39 Variation XIII 1'04
40 Variation XIV 1'59
  Album total 82'08
PianoPlowright, Jonathan

© BIS Records AB | | Phone +46 (0)8 544 102-30 BIS online store - Terms and Conditions