Search catalogue


Chopin - Ballades Nos 2 & 4, Scherzo No. 4 et al.

Composer Fryderyk Chopin
Performer Anna Zassimova
Period Romantic
Catalogue Number BIS-2619 SACD
EAN 7318599926193
Format SACD Hybrid

This hybrid disc plays on both CD and SACD players
SACD Surround - SACD Stereo - CD Stereo

Release date Jun 2023
Total time 80'51

A musical journey through Chopin’s creative career
The pianist Anna Zassimova offers us a musical journey through most of Chopin’s creative periods, bringing together miniatures and some larger scaled, highly structured works. We can thus follow the composer’s stylistic evolution: slightly whimsical at first, then works that are often tragic and violent, evolving in his final years towards great luminosity and relative calm.

Highlights of this recital include the Ballades Nos 2 and 4, the Mazurkas, Op. 41 and Op. 50 and the Scherzo No. 4 in E major. The mazurkas can be seen as a kind of diary &&&that Chopin kept throughout his life as an artist, reflecting his deep-rooted attachment to Poland. In them, folklore was entirely recreated and stylized. Considered the finest of Chopin’s creation and among the most representative of romantic music, the Ballads are pure music in its finest form. Without any specific programme, they are said to have been inspired by the poetic ideas of one of his friends, the poet Adam Mickiewicz. Finally, the Scherzo has an almost fairy-tale, luminous atmosphere, although there are more passionate and intense moments, and it thus appears close to the character of the scherzo as it was once conceived.
Choose format
01 Mazurka in F sharp minor, Op.6 No. 1 2'54
02 Mazurka in C sharp minor, Op.6 No. 2 2'20
03 Mazurka in F minor, Op.7 No. 3 2'19
04 Ballade No. 4 in F minor, Op.52 12'09
05 Nocturne in G minor, Op.15 No. 3 5'21
06 Mazurka in G minor, Op.67 No. 2 1'54
  Three Mazurkas, Op.50 11'40
07 Vivace in G major 2'39
08 Allegretto in A flat major 3'06
09 Moderato in C sharp minor 5'55
10 Ballade No. 2 in F major, Op.38 7'42
11 Mazurka in C major, Op.67 No. 3 1'34
  Four Mazurkas, Op.41 8'55
12 Andantino in E minor 2'04
13 Animato in B major 1'22
14 Allegretto in A flat major 1'52
15 Maestoso in C sharp minor 3'37
16 Waltz in A flat major, Op.64 No. 3 3'43
17 Scherzo No. 4 in E major, Op.54 11'47
18 Waltz in E major, WN 18 2'10
19 Sostenuto in E flat major, WN 53 1'50
20 Cantabile in B flat major, WN 43 1'04
21 Moderato in E major, WN 56 3'13
  Album total 80'51
ComposerChopin, Fryderyk
PianoZassimova, Anna

© BIS Records AB | | Phone +46 (0)8 544 102-30 BIS online store - Terms and Conditions