Search catalogue


Christian Lindberg - A composers portrait II

‘A wonderfully adept and individual composer with a style that in both rhythm and gesture is as flexible as it is light of touch’ is how Christian Lindberg was described on German website Klassik Heute after the release of ‘Christian Lindberg – A Composer’s Portrait’ in 2004. The reviewer in Fanfare was similarly appreciative, describing the performances as ‘world-class brilliant’ and making the CD itself one of his discs of the year. On this follow-up, Christian Lindberg again participates as a performer, playing or conducting – and in some works doing both at the same time! Alongside Lindberg the disc features Richard Tognetti and the Australian Chamber Orchestra in Asa, a work that sprang from Lindberg’s interest in the religious beliefs of the Vikings. Inspired by a poem by August Strindberg, OF BLOOD SO RED for chamber orchestra, is the longest work on the disc, and as Lindberg himself describes it in his liner notes, his most ‘serious’ piece ever. It is performed by the Swedish Chamber Orchestra conducted by Lindberg, who also recites the Strindberg poem. Remaining works include a trumpet concerto (with Ole Edvard Antonsen as soloist), two pieces for solo trombone and Gypsy Kingdom for trombone and string quartet, making this a programme as varied in sound and character as are the talents of its creator.
Choose format
  Christian Lindberg
  Asa (for electric violin, trombone, amplified harpsichord and amplified strings) 10'31
01 Soul at the beach – Metric Garden 3'32
02 Elvis in Memoriam 2'10
03 Lost Harmony – The World is an Asa-hole 4'49
04 Joe Jack Binglebandit (for solo trombone) 5'29
  Akbank Bunka (for trumpet and orchestra) 15'28
05 I. Akolebank 6'19
06 II. Japabunka 5'45
07 III. Turkjazz 3'24
08 Gipsy Kingdom (for trombone and string quartet) 12'02
  OF BLOOD SO RED (AV BLOD SÅ RÖTT), concerto for chamber orchestra 27'14
09 Hot Blood (Hett blod) 1'48
10 Steaming meat (Rykande kött) 2'13
11 Clear water (Friskt vatten) 5'25
12 Bad blood (Ont blod) 2'27
13 Horn song (Hornens sång) 0'44
14 Intermezzo 1'08
15 On slabs of white marble (På vita marmorskivor) 1'09
16 Sharp weapons (Slipade vapen) 2'18
17 Brightest red (Det lyser så rött) 3'21
18 Trembling from the cold (I kölden skalv) 3'54
19 A plucked-out heart (Ett urtaget hjärta) 2'47
20 Bombay Bay Barracuda (for trombone and tape) 3'04
  Album total 75'35
TromboneLindberg, Christian
HarpsichordPeres Da Costa, Neal
OrchestraAustralian Chamber Orchestra
Nordic Chamber Orchestra
Swedish Chamber Orchestra (Svenska Kammarorkestern)
ViolinTognetti, Richard
ComposerLindberg, Christian
TrumpetAntonsen, Ole Edvard
ConductorLindberg, Christian
EnsembleAustralian Chamber Orchestra

© BIS Records AB | | Phone +46 (0)8 544 102-30 BIS online store - Terms and Conditions