Search catalogue


Russian Masquerade

Composer Anton Stepanovich Arensky
Rudolf Barshai
Jouni Kaipainen
Sergey Prokofiev
Alexander Scriabin
Pyotr Il'yich Tchaikovsky
Performer Ostrobothnian Chamber Orchestra
Sakari Oramo, conductor
Period Modern
Catalogue Number BIS-2365 SACD
EAN 7318599923659
Format SACD Hybrid

This hybrid disc plays on both CD and SACD players
SACD Surround - SACD Stereo - CD Stereo

Release date May 2019
Total time 59'27

Arrangements old and new for string orchestra
Composed in Russia between 1884 and 1917, the four works appearing on this disc all do so in some kind of disguise. Prokofiev and Scriabin both conceived their respective collections for the piano, and it is later arrangers that have adapted them for string orchestra. Rudolf Barshai took on Prokofiev’s Visions Fugitives in 1962, selecting 15 of the 20 brief pieces and arranging them for his own ensemble, the Moscow Chamber Orchestra. Scriabin’s Preludes received a similar &&&treatment in 1999 when the Finnish composer Jouni Kaipainen chose 13 from the original 24, rearranging the order they appear in and transposing them in some cases. As for Anton Arensky (1861—1909), he composed his set of variations as the third movement of a string quartet, taking the theme from a song by Tchaikovsky and letting it undergo a series of transformations. Cheered by the success of the piece, he made his own arrangement for larger forces, a version which remains one of his best-known works. Tchaikovsky’s Elegy, finally, is actually heard here as it was composed, in 1884, but the piece saw the light of day as ‘A Thankful Greeting’ and was renamed ‘Elegy’ only at the time of publication, before making a final reappearance, as part of the composer’s music to Hamlet. The four works are performed by the Ostrobothnian Chamber Orchestra, one of Finland’s finest ensembles, conducted by its artistic director Sakari Oramo.
Choose format
  Sergei Prokofiev
  Visions fugitives (arr. Rudolf Barshai) 16'58
01 I. Lentamente 1'09
02 II. Andante 1'19
03 III. Allegro 0'58
04 IV. Animato 1'01
05 V. Molto giocoso 0'25
06 VI. Con eleganza 0'35
07 VII. Comodo 1'19
08 VIII. Allegretto tranquillo 1'12
09 IX. Ridicolosamente 1'05
10 X. Con vivacità 1'05
11 XI. Assai moderato 1'09
12 XII. Allegretto 0'46
13 XIII. Feroce 1'09
14 XIV. Inquieto 0'56
15 XV. Dolente 2'50
  Alexander Scriabin
  Preludes, Op.11 (arr. Jouni Kaipainen) 19'51
16 No. 13. G major. Lento 1'59
17 No. 14. E minor. Presto 1'18
18 No. 9. E major. Andantino 2'09
19 No. 2. A minor. Allegretto 2'17
20 No. 7. A major. Allegro assai 1'02
21 No. 8. F sharp minor. Allegro agitato 1'32
22 No. 15. D flat major. Lento 2'16
23 No. 16. B flat minor. Misterioso 1'31
24 No. 17. A flat major. Allegretto 0'44
25 No. 18. F minor. Allegro agitato 0'47
26 No. 23. F major. Vivo 0'59
27 No. 6. D minor. Allegro [orig. B minor] 0'58
28 No. 5. D major. Andante cantabile 2'19
  Anton Arensky
  Variations on a Theme by Tchaikovsky, Op. 35a 13'35
29 Theme. Moderato 1'09
30 Var. I. Un poco più mosso 1'28
31 Var. II. Allegro non troppo 1'08
32 Var. III. Andantino tranquillo 1'29
33 Var. IV. Vivace 1'30
34 Var. V. Andante 2'24
35 Var. VI. Allegro con spirito 1'21
36 Var. VII. Andante con moto 1'23
37 Coda. Moderato 1'43
  Pyotr Il'yich Tchaikovsky
38 Elegy for string orchestra 7'55
  Album total 59'27
ComposerArensky, Anton
Prokofiev, Sergei
Scriabin, Alexander
Tchaikovsky, Pyotr Il'yich
ArrangerBarshai, Rudolf
Kaipainen, Jouni
ConductorOramo, Sakari
OrchestraOstrobothnian Chamber Orchestra

© BIS Records AB | | Phone +46 (0)8 544 102-30 BIS online store - Terms and Conditions