Search catalogue


J.S. Bach - Secular Cantatas, Vol. 8 (BWV 206, 215)

Composer Johann Sebastian Bach
Performer Hiroya Aoki
Hana Blažíková
Charles Daniels
Roderick Williams
Bach Collegium Japan
Masaaki Suzuki, conductor
Period Baroque
Catalogue Number BIS-2231 SACD
EAN 7318599922317
Format SACD Hybrid

This hybrid disc plays on both CD and SACD players
SACD Surround - SACD Stereo - CD Stereo

Release date May 2017
Total time 70'23

Besides the fact that they both celebrate Augustus III, Elector of Saxony and King of Poland, there is a close connection between the two works included on the eighth volume of Bach’s secular cantatas. On 2nd October 1734, the King and his family made a surprise visit to Leipzig&&&, and in all haste a festive event was planned for three days later, in celebration of the anniversary of Augustus’s ascension to the Polish throne. Bach was asked to provide the musical entertainment, and consequently had to put aside the work he was busy composing… namely BWV 206 Schleicht, spielende Wellen, intended for a celebration of the King’s birthday on 7th October!
The new cantata, Preise dein Glücke, gesegnetes Sachsen, BWV 215, is a substantial work, and it is not surprising that Bach, with only a few days to produce it, had recourse to earlier compositions: the only parts that were written completely from scratch were the recitatives, the soprano aria (seventh movement) and the final chorus. In the meantime, BWV 206 – the birthday cantata that Bach had to put on hold – came to good use two years later, when the King’s birthday was celebrated with a concert at Zimmermann’s coffee house in Leipzig. Both works are richly scored with trumpets and timpani, and here receive suitably festive performances from Bach Collegium Japan and Masaaki Suzuki.
Choose format
  Schleicht, spielende Wellen, und murmelt gelinde, BWV206 37'24
01 1. Chorus. Schleicht, spielende Wellen, und murmelt gelinde!… 6'10
02 2. Recitativo (Basso). O glückliche Veränderung!… 1'27
03 3. Aria (Basso). Schleuß des Janustempels Türen… 4'14
04 4. Recitativo e Arioso (Tenore). So recht! beglückter Weichselstrom! 1'39
05 5. Aria (Tenore). Jede Woge meiner Wellen… 6'51
06 6. Recitativo (Alto). Ich nehm zugleich an deiner Freude teil… 1'07
07 7. Aria (Alto). Reis von Habsburgs hohem Stamme… 5'46
08 8. Recitativo (Soprano). Verzeiht, bemooste Häupter starker Ströme… 1'58
09 9. Aria (Soprano). Hört doch! der sanften Flöten Chor… 3'19
10 10. Recitativo (Basso, Tenore, Alto, Soprano). Ich muss, ich will gehorsam sein… 1'34
11 11.Chorus. Die himmlische Vorsicht der ewigen Güte… 3'19
  Preise dein Glücke, gesegnetes Sachsen, BWV215 31'47
12 1.Chorus. Preise dein Glücke, gesegnetes Sachsen… 7'35
13 2.Recitativo (Tenore). Wie können wir, großmächtigster August… 1'12
14 3.Aria (Tenore). Freilich trotzt Augustus’ Name… 7'03
15 4.Recitativo (Basso). Was hat dich sonst, Sarmatien, bewogen… 1'54
16 5.Aria (Basso). Rase nur, verwegner Schwarm… 3'40
17 6.Recitativo (Soprano). Ja, ja! Gott ist uns noch mit seiner Hülfe nah… 1'21
18 7.Aria (Soprano). Durch die von Eifer entflammeten Waffen… 3'54
19 8.Recitativo (Soprano, Tenore, Basso). Lass doch, o teurer Landesvater, zu… 2'45
20 9.Chorus. Stifter der Reiche, Beherrscher der Kronen… 2'23
  Album total 70'23
ConductorSuzuk, Masaaki
Suzuki, Masaaki
OrchestraBach Collegium Japan
ChoirBach Collegium Japan Chorus
BassWilliams, Roderick
TenorDaniels, Charles
Counter-tenorAoki, Hiroya
SopranoBlažíková, Hana

© BIS Records AB | | Phone +46 (0)8 544 102-30 BIS online store - Terms and Conditions