Search catalogue


J.S. Bach - Secular Cantatas, Vol.3 (BWV 173a, 202, 36c, 524)

Composer Johann Sebastian Bach
Performer Joanne Lunn
Makoto Sakurada
Roderick Williams
Bach Collegium Japan
Masaaki Suzuki, conductor
Period Baroque
Catalogue Number BIS-2041 SACD
EAN 7318599920412
Format SACD Hybrid

This hybrid disc plays on both CD and SACD players
SACD Surround - SACD Stereo - CD Stereo

Release date May 2013
Total time 77'26

Music Web International, September 2013: "If you are curious about the Bach who rose to every occasion, and was apparently able to greet diversion with as much of a smile as he did momentousness, these four works are so well performed that they will surely delight as much as Bach must have intended them to do.“

Although two of the works on this disc were composed for weddings, they are completely different in character. Weichet nur, betrübte Schatten is a charming and gracious garland of recitatives and arias for soprano solo in which Spring, Flora, Apollo and Amor are all invoked in a blessing of the newly wedded couple and their union.

The Quodlibet (Latin for ‘what pleases’) on the other hand, is an altogether unceremonious composition which was probably intended for a private function in Bach’s own circle or family. All we have is a fragment of the work – in Bach’s own hand – and the beginning and ending of the piece, including the title page, are missing.

It is therefore not even certain that it is Bach’s own work, but may have been a collaboration between several of the wedding guests. Compositions of this kind belong to a tradition which combines quotations from songs, toasts, market traders’ calls, proverbs and puns, and were especially popular at weddings – where they frequently got out of hand!

The third disc in Bach Collegium Japan’s series of secular cantatas also includes a birthday cantata composed in the honour of Prince Leopold of Anhalt-Köthen, Bach’s employer during years 1717–23. Durchlauchtster Leopold (‘Most illustrious Leopold’) celebrates the ‘propitious day’ while extolling the ruler’s ‘excellent attributes’ and ‘princely renown’.

Two duets in minuet form lend the work the character of a courtly serenade, which didn’t stop Bach from reusing it, with a new text, as a church cantata a few years later. The name of the recipient of Schwingt freudig euch empor, another congratulatory cantata, is no longer known, but the text tells us that he was a teacher of high standing and of an advanced age.

Once again Bach, who must have been attached to the work, reused it as a church cantata, but also, with the new title Steigt freudig in die Luft, as a birthday tribute to Charlotte Friederike of Anhalt-Köthen, the wife of Prince Leopold.
Choose format
  Johann Sebastian Bach
  Durchlauchtster Leopold, BWV173a (Serenata) 18'25
01 1. [Recitativo] (Soprano). Durchlauchtster Leopold… 0'40
02 2. Aria (Soprano). Güldner Sonnen frohe Stunden… 3'35
03 3. [Aria] (Basso). Leopolds Vortrefflichkeiten… 1'47
04 4. Aria (Soprano, Basso). Unter seinem Purpursaum… 3'45
05 5. Recitativo (Soprano, Basso). Durchlauchtigster, den Anhalt Vater nennt… 1'14
06 6. Aria (Soprano). So schau dies holden Tages Licht… 3'19
07 7. Aria (Basso). Dein Name gleich der Sonnen geh… 2'04
08 8. Chorus (Soprano, Basso). Nimm auch, großer Fürst, uns auf… 2'01
  Weichet nur, betrübte Schatten, BWV202 19'30
09 1. [Aria]. Weichet nur, betrübte Schatten… 6'03
10 2. [Recitativo]. Die Welt wird wieder neu… 0'28
11 3. Aria. Phoebus eilt mit schnellen Pferden… 3'05
12 4. Recitativo. Drum sucht auch Amor sein Vergnügen… 0'41
13 5. Aria. Wenn die Frühlingslüfte streichen… 2'45
14 6. Recitativo. Und dieses ist das Glücke… 0'42
15 7. Aria. Sich üben im Lieben… 3'56
16 8. Recitativo. So sei das Band der keuschen Liebe… 0'27
17 9. Gavotte. Sehet in Zufriedenheit… 1'23
  Schwingt freudig euch empor und dringt bis an die Sternen, BWV36c 27'32
18 1. [Chorus]. Schwingt freudig euch empor und dringt bis an die Sternen… 4'02
19 2. Recitativo (Tenore). Ein Herz, in zärtlichem Empfinden… 0'58
20 3. Aria (Tenore). Die Liebe führt mit sanften Schritten… 5'49
21 4. Recitativo (Basso). Du bist es ja, o hochverdienter Mann… 0'48
22 5. Aria (Basso). Der Tag, der dich vordem gebar… 2'46
23 6. Recitativo (Soprano). Nur dieses Einz’ge sorgen wir… 0'38
24 7. Aria (Soprano). Auch mit gedämpften, schwachen Stimmen… 8'51
25 8. Recitativo (Tenore). Bei solchen freudenvollen Stunden… 0'22
26 9. Chorus [e Recitativo] (Soprano,Tenore, Basso). Wie die Jahre sich verneuen… 3'18
  Quodlibet, BWV524 (Fragment)
27 Was seind das vor große Schlösser… 10'46
  Album total 77'26
ComposerBach, Johann Sebastian
ConductorSuzuki, Masaaki
OrchestraBach Collegium Japan
SopranoLunn, Joanne
TenorSakurada, Makoto
BaritoneWilliams, Roderick

© BIS Records AB | | Phone +46 (0)8 544 102-30 BIS online store - Terms and Conditions