Search catalogue


J.S. Bach - Cantatas, Vol.29 (BWV 2, 3, 38, 135)

Composer Johann Sebastian Bach
Performer Pascal Bertin
Peter Kooij
Dorothee Mields
Gerd Türk
Bach Collegium Japan
Concerto Palatino
Masaaki Suzuki, conductor
Period Baroque
Catalogue Number BIS-1461 SACD
EAN 7318599914619
Format SACD Hybrid

This hybrid disc plays on both CD and SACD players
SACD Surround - SACD Stereo - CD Stereo

Release date Nov 2005
Total time 71'39

Music Web International: Record of the Year 2006.

In this the 29th volume of Bach Cantatas, Masaaki Suzuki and his musicians are still exploring Bach's great project, the Chorale Cantata Year, which was initiated in 1724 in order to celebrate the bicentenary of the first Lutheran hymn books. Each cantata belonging to the project is very closely connected to one particular hymn from this collection, especially in terms of the texts used.
For all of them can be said that the first and the last movement are settings of the first and last strophes of the hymn, with Bach using the original hymn melody as the guiding light in highly imaginative scores. The remaining strophes were used as an inspiration by an unknown librettist, providing texts suitable for arias, recitatives and ensembles, while remaining true to the idea of the original hymn.
All of the works on the present disc use the addition of cornetto and/or trombones, resulting – in particular in BWV2 and BWV38 – in a sonic world both dramatic and archaic, even for Bach's own time. On this recording it is Concerto Palatino, the world's leading ensemble of their kind, which provides the inimitable timbres of cornettos and baroque trombones.
Among the soloists, Gerd Türk and Peter Kooij will be familiar to followers of this series and Pascal Bertin has also appeared before, while the young German soprano Dorothee Mields makes her first appearance on BIS.

Please note: The music on this Hybrid Super Audio CD can be played back in Stereo (CD and SACD) as well as in 5.0 Surround sound (SACD).
Choose format
  Johann Sebastian Bach
  Ach Herr, mich armen Sünder, BWV 135 13'53
01 I. Chorus - Ach Herr, mich armen Sünder... 4'53
02 II. Recitativo (tenore) - Ach heile mich, du Artzt der Seelen... 1'13
03 III. Aria (tenore) - Tröste mir, Jesu, mein Gemüte... 2'56
04 IV. Recitativo (alto) - Ich bin von Seufzen müde... 1'04
05 V. Aria (basso) - Weicht, all ihr Übeltäter... 2'49
06 VI. Choral - Ehr sei ins Himmels Throne... 0'58
  Ach Gott, vom Himmel sieh darein, BWV 2 16'51
07 I. Choral - Ach Gott, vom Himmel sieh darein... 4'48
08 II. Recitativo (tenore) - Sie lehren eitel falsche List... 1'08
09 III. Aria (alto) - Tilg, o Gott, die Lehren... 3'22
10 IV. Recitativo (basso) - Die Armen sind verstört... 1'37
11 V. Aria (tenore) - Durchs Feuer wird das Silber rein... 4'58
12 VI. Choral - Das wollst du, Gott, bewahren rein... 0'58
  Ach Gott, wie manches Herzeleid, BWV 3 22'03
13 I. Chorus - Ach Gott, wie manches Herzeleid... 5'46
14 II. Recitativo and Choral - Wie schwerlich lässt sich Fleisch und Blut... 2'02
15 III. Aria (basso) - Empfind ich Höllenangst und Pein... 6'21
16 IV. Recitativo (tenore) - Es mag mir Leib und Geist verschmachten... 1'09
17 V. Aria Duetto (soprano, tenore) - Wenn Sorgen auf mich dringen... 6'10
18 VI. Choral - Erhalt mein Herz im Glauben rein... 0'35
  Aus tiefer Not schrei ich zu dir, BWV 38 16'43
19 I. Chorus - Aus tiefer Not schrei ich zu dir... 3'58
20 II. Recitativo (alto) - In Jesu Gnade wird allein... 0'48
21 III. Aria (tenore) - Ich höre mitten in den Leiden... 6'11
22 IV. Recitiatvo (soprano) - Ach! Dass mein Glaube noch so schwach... 1'32
23 V. Aria Terzetto (soprano, alto, basso) - Wenn meine Trübsal als mit Ketten... 3'08
24 VI. Choral - Ob bei uns ist der Sünden viel... 1'06
  Album total 71'39
OrchestraBach Collegium Japan
EnsembleConcerto Palatino
ComposerBach, Johann Sebastian
ConductorSuzuki, Masaaki
TenorTurk (Türk), Gerd
Counter-tenorBertin, Pascal
BassKooij, Peter
SopranoMields, Dorothee

© BIS Records AB | | Phone +46 (0)8 544 102-30 BIS online store - Terms and Conditions