Search catalogue


J.S. Bach - Cantatas, Vol.32 (BWV 111, 123, 124, 125)

Composer Johann Sebastian Bach
Performer Robin Blaze
Peter Kooij
Yukari Nonoshita
Andreas Weller
Bach Collegium Japan
Masaaki Suzuki, conductor
Period Baroque
Catalogue Number BIS-1501 SACD
EAN 7318599915012
Format SACD Hybrid

This hybrid disc plays on both CD and SACD players
SACD Surround - SACD Stereo - CD Stereo

Release date Jul 2006
Total time 74'28

Gramophone: outstanding; Music Web International: outstanding.

‘Mit Fried und Freud’ is the title of the 32nd volume in the Cantata Cycle of Bach Collegium Japan and Masaaki Suzuki. Though taken from Cantata BWV 125, ‘In peace and joy’ actually serves as a motto for much of the music on this disc. The joy in loving Christ, and the peace experienced through this love – even when contemplating death – are recurring themes in all four of these cantatas, which were first performed in January and February, 1725 in the Thomaskirche in Leipzig. Masaaki Suzuki’s Cantata Cycle is by now firmly established and the reviews for the latest discs have been positively glowing: ‘consistently outstanding performances, musical beyond belief, and worthy of any collection’ was how the reviewer of MusicWeb International described Volume 28 (BIS-SACD-1451), while International Record Review’s critic found that Suzuki was again bringing off ‘a fine achievement, striking the right balance between deep contemplation and freshness of approach.’ Volume 29 (BIS-SACD-1461) was no less highly regarded. It was for instance termed a benchmark recording by the reviewer in BBC music Magazine, who went on to recommend ‘a textural clarity and a lightness of tread which makes more sense of Bach's often strongly chromatic music than any rival recording that I can recall.’ New to the team on the present disc is tenor Andreas Weller, who comes to the fore in the remarkable aria ‘Auch die harte Kreuzesreise’ from BWV 123, where he is joined by two oboe d’amore in depicting the sorrowful earthly path of those who follow Christ.
Choose format
  Johann Sebastian Bach
  Was mein Gott will, das g’scheh allzeit, BWV111 16'40
01 I. [Chorus]. Was mein Gott will, das g’scheh allzeit… 4'30
02 II. Aria (Basso). Entsetze dich, mein Herze, nicht… 2'58
03 III. Recitativo (Alto). O Törichter! der sich von Gott entzieht… 0'50
04 IV. Aria (Alto, Tenore). So geh ich mit beherzten Schritten… 6'05
05 V. Recitativo (Soprano). Drum wenn der Tod zuletzt den Geist… 1'09
06 VI. Choral. Noch eins, Herr, will ich bitten dich… 1'08
  Johann Sebastian Bach
  Liebster Immanuel, Herzog der Frommen, BWV123 20'00
07 I. [Chorus]. Liebster Immanuel, Herzog der Frommen… 5'07
08 II. Recitativo (Alto). Die Himmelssüßigkeit, der Auserwählten Lust… 0'48
09 III. Aria (Tenore). Auch die harte Kreuzesreise… 6'15
10 IV. Recitativo (Basso). Kein Höllenfeind kann mich verschlingen… 0'49
11 V. Aria (Basso).Laß, o Welt, mich aus Verachtung… 5'42
12 VI. Choral. Drum fahrt nur immer hin, ihr Eitelkeiten… 1'19
  Johann Sebastian Bach
  Meinen Jesum laß ich nicht, BWV124 13'06
13 I. [Chorus].Meinen Jesum laß ich nicht… 3'24
14 II. Recitativo (Tenore). Solange sich ein Tropfen Blut… 0'45
15 III. Aria (Tenore). Und wenn der harte Todesschlag… 3'26
16 IV. Recitativo (Basso). Doch ach!… 1'03
17 V. Aria Duetto (Soprano, Alto). Entziehe dich eilends, mein Herze, der Welt… 3'41
18 VI. Choral. Jesum laß ich nicht von mir… 0'47
  Johann Sebastian Bach
  Mit Fried und Freud ich fahr dahin, BWV125 23'08
19 I. [Chorus]. Mit Fried und Freud ich fahr dahin… 5'55
20 II. Aria (Alto). Ich will auch mit gebrochnen Augen… 8'28
21 III. Recitativo (Basso). O Wunder, daß ein Herz… 2'04
22 IV. Aria Duetto (Tenore, Basso). Ein unbegreiflich Licht… 5'14
23 V. Recitativo (Alto). O unerschöpfter Schatz der Güte… 0'42
24 VI. Choral. Er ist das Heil und selig Licht… 0'45
  Album total 74'28
ConductorSuzuki, Masaaki
ComposerBach, Johann Sebastian
Choir & orchestraBach Collegium Japan
BassKooij, Peter
Counter-tenorBlaze, Robin
TenorWeller, Andreas
SopranoNonoshita, Yukari

© BIS Records AB | | Phone +46 (0)8 544 102-30 BIS online store - Terms and Conditions