Search catalogue


J.S. Bach - Cantatas, Vol.39 (BWV 68, 175, 28, 183, 85)

Composer Johann Sebastian Bach
Performer Robin Blaze
Peter Kooij
Carolyn Sampson
Gerd Türk
Bach Collegium Japan
Concerto Palatino
Masaaki Suzuki, conductor
Period Baroque
Catalogue Number BIS-1641 SACD
EAN 7318599916415
Format SACD Hybrid

This hybrid disc plays on both CD and SACD players
SACD Surround - SACD Stereo - CD Stereo

Release date Apr 2008
Total time 72'42

After two volumes concentrating on solo cantatas, the full forces – including the splendid choir – of Bach Collegium Japan return in this programme of five cantatas dated 1725. The choir instantly makes its presence felt in the first movement of the opening work, BWV68. This is a large-scale hymn arrangement, where the choir is supported by an orchestra including horn and oboes. This is followed by one of the most charming and beautiful soprano arias in all of Bach’s cantatas, ‘Mein gläubiges Herze’, in which Carolyn Sampson shines. The five works all include various more or less unusual instrumental combinations, from the three recorders which lend a pastoral character to Er rufet seinen Schafen mit Namen, BWV175, to the wind quartet (two oboi d’amore and two oboi da caccia) appearing in Sie werden euch in den Bann tun, BWV183. The variety of timbres is further aided by the appearance of the cornet and trombones of Concerto Palatino, as well as that of Dmitry Badiarov performing the important and soloistic parts for violoncello piccolo on his own reconstruction of a violoncello ‘da spalla’ (‘of the shoulder’). Apart from Carolyn Sampson, the vocal soloists are Gerd Türk, who glows in the intensely melodic tenor aria ‘Seht, was die Liebe tut’ (from BWV 85), Peter Kooij, whose bass becomes the voice of Christ in Ich bin ein guter Hirt, (BWV85), and Robin Blaze having a fine moment in the expressive alto aria Komm, leite mich (BWV175). All in all, another impressive instalment in this highly acclaimed cycle.
Choose format
  Johann Sebastian Bach
  Also hat Gott die Welt geliebt, BWV68 13'55
01 1. Choral. Also hat Gott die Welt geliebt… 4'28
02 2. Aria (Soprano). Mein gläubiges Herze… 3'04
03 3. Recitativo (Basso). Ich bin mit Petro nicht vermessen… 0'43
04 4. Aria (Basso). Du bist geboren mir zugute… 3'23
05 5. Chorus. Wer an ihn gläubet… 2'17
  Er rufet seinen Schafen mit Namen, BWV175 14'44
06 1.Recitativo (Tenore). Er rufet seinen Schafen mit Namen… 0'26
07 2. Aria (Alto). Komm, leite mich… 4'12
08 3. Recitativo (Tenore). Wo find’ ich dich?… 0'32
09 4. Aria (Tenore). Es dünket mich, ich seh dich kommen… 3'06
10 5. Recitativo (Alto, Basso). Sie vernahmen aber nicht… 1'00
11 6. Aria (Basso). Öffnet euch, ihr beiden Ohren… 4'00
12 7. Chorale. Nun, werter Geist, ich folge dir… 1'28
  Gottlob! nun geht das Jahr zu Ende, BWV28 13'09
13 1. Aria (Soprano). Gottlob! nun geht das Jahr zu Ende… 3'49
14 2. Choral. Nun lob, mein Seel, den Herren… 3'40
15 3. Recitativo ed Arioso (Basso). So spricht der Herr… 1'35
16 4. Recitativo (Tenore). Gott ist ein Quell, wo lauter Güte fleußt… 1'04
17 5. Aria Duetto (Alto, Tenore). Gott hat uns im heurigen Jahre gesegnet… 2'09
18 6. Choral. All solch dein Güt wir preisen… 0'52
  Sie werden euch in den Bann tun, BWV183 13'40
19 1. Recitativo (Basso). Sie werden euch in den Bann tun… 0'28
20 2. Aria (Tenore). Ich fürchte nicht des Todes Schrecken… 7'52
21 3. Recitativo (Alto). Ich bin bereit, mein Blut und armes Leben… 0'57
22 4. Aria (Soprano). Höchster Tröster, heilger Geist… 3'30
23 5. Choral. Du bist ein Geist, der lehret… 0'53
  Ich bin ein guter Hirt, BWV85 14'59
24 1. Aria (Basso). Ich bin ein guter Hirt… 3'04
25 2. Aria (Alto). Jesus ist ein guter Hirt… 2'59
26 3. Choral (Soprano). Der Herr ist mein getreuer Hirt… 4'40
27 4. Recitativo (Tenore). Wenn die Mietlinge schlafen… 1'03
28 5. Aria (Tenore). Seht, was die Liebe tut… 2'22
29 Choral. Ist Gott mein Schutz und treuer Hirt… 0'51
  Album total 72'42
Brass ensembleConcerto Palatino
OrchestraBach Collegium Japan
ComposerBach, Johann Sebastian
ConductorSuzuki, Masaaki
SopranoSampson, Carolyn
BassKooij, Peter
TenorTurk (Türk), Gerd
Counter-tenorBlaze, Robin

© BIS Records AB | | Phone +46 (0)8 544 102-30 BIS online store - Terms and Conditions