Search catalogue


J.S. Bach - Cantatas, Vol.40 (BWV 137, 168, 79, 164)

Composer Johann Sebastian Bach
Performer Robin Blaze
Peter Kooij
Yukari Nonoshita
Makoto Sakurada
Bach Collegium Japan
Masaaki Suzuki, conductor
Period Baroque
Catalogue Number BIS-1671 SACD
EAN 7318599916712
Format SACD Hybrid

This hybrid disc plays on both CD and SACD players
SACD Surround - SACD Stereo - CD Stereo

Release date Jul 2008
Total time 57'22

International Record Review: outstanding.

The four cantatas on this recording are dated 1725, a year during which Bach appears to have devoted himself less regularly than previously to the writing of cantatas. Whatever the reason might have been for this, the cantatas that he did compose are far from being routine affairs. Lobe den Herren (Praise to the Lord), BWV 137, is a case in point: in it Bach includes the original text of the famous hymn, and also uses the familiar melody in all five movements to a greater or lesser degree. To impose such limitations must have been a challenge to himself as a composer, and the imagination and technical skill with which he fulfilled his task are striking. Another impressive moment is the opening movement of Gott der Herr ist Sonn und Schild, BWV79. This was written for the Feast of the Reformation, and with its horns and timpani it conveys a festive magnificence suitable to the occasion. The remaining two cantatas are both associated with a biblical allegory. In the case of BWV 168, the parable of the Dishonest Steward gives Bach the opportunity of composing a thunderous demand for a reckoning of accounts in the opening bass aria Tue Rechnung!, as well as letting the tenor sing about interest and capital in the most beguiling manner in the aria Kapital und Interessen. BWV164 on the other hand deals with the parable of the Good Samaritan, with the expressive alto aria Nur durch Lieb und durch Erbarmen… (‘Only through love and through pity’) providing an emotional centre, with its accompaniment of two flutes.
Choose format
  Johann Sebastian Bach
  Lobe den Herren, den mächtigen König der Ehren, BWV137 12'31
01 Chorus. Lobe den Herren, den mächtigen König der Ehren… 3'06
02 Aria (Alto). Lobe den Herren, der alles so herrlich regieret… 3'13
03 Aria (Soprano, Basso). Lobe den Herren, der künstlich und fein dich… 3'01
04 Aria (Tenore). Lobe den Herren, der deinen Stand sichtbar… 2'26
05 Choral. Lobe den Herren, was in mir ist, lobe den Namen!… 0'45
  Tue Rechnung! Donnerwort, BWV168 12'47
06 1. Aria (Basso). Tue Rechnung! Donnerwort… 3'01
07 2. Recitativo (Tenore). Es ist nur fremdes Gut… 1'50
08 3. Aria (Tenore). Kapital und Interessen… 3'07
09 4. Recitativo (Basso). Jedoch, erschrocknes Herz, leb und verzage nicht!… 1'42
10 5. Aria (Soprano, Alto). Herz, zerreiß des Mammons Kette… 2'11
11 6. Choral. Stärk’ mich mit deinem Freudengeist… 0'56
  Gott der Herr ist Sonn und Schild, BWV79 14'03
12 1. [Chorus]. Gott der Herr ist Sonn und Schild… 4'36
13 2. Aria (Alto). Gott ist unsre Sonn und Schild!… 2'47
14 3. Choral. Nun danket alle Gott… 2'03
15 4. Recitativo (Basso). Gottlob, wir wissen… 0'58
16 5. Aria (Soprano, Basso). Gott, ach Gott, verlass die Deinen… 2'58
17 6. Choral. Erhalt uns in der Wahrheit… 0'41
  Ihr, die ihr euch von Christo nennet, BWV164 16'24
18 1. [Aria] (Tenore). Ihr, die ihr euch von Christo nennet… 4'16
19 2. Recitativo (Basso). Wir hören zwar, was selbst die Liebe spricht… 1'46
20 3. Aria (Alto). Nur durch Lieb und durch Erbarmen… 4'17
21 4. Recitativo (Tenore). Ach, schmelze doch durch deinen Liebesstrahl… 1'29
22 5. Aria (Soprano, Basso). Händen, die sich nicht verschließen… 3'47
23 6. Choral. Ertöt uns durch dein Güte… 0'49
  Album total 57'22
OrchestraBach Collegium Japan
ComposerBach, Johann Sebastian
ConductorSuzuki, Masaaki
Counter-tenorBlaze, Robin
BassKooij, Peter
SopranoNonoshita, Yukari
TenorSakurada, Makoto

© BIS Records AB | | Phone +46 (0)8 544 102-30 BIS online store - Terms and Conditions