Search catalogue


J.S. Bach - Cantatas, Vol.43 (BWV 110, 57, 151)

Composer Johann Sebastian Bach
Performer Robin Blaze
Hana Blažíková
Peter Kooij
Gerd Türk
Bach Collegium Japan
Masaaki Suzuki, conductor
Period Baroque
Catalogue Number BIS-1761 SACD
EAN 7318599917610
Format SACD Hybrid

This hybrid disc plays on both CD and SACD players
SACD Surround - SACD Stereo - CD Stereo

Release date Apr 2009
Total time 62'28

Three Christmas cantatas from 1725 make up the programme of the 43rd volume in Masaaki Suzuki’s and Bach Collegium Japan’s highly praised cycle of Bach’s cantatas. The first of these, BWV110, ‘Then was our mouth filled with laughter’, will be familiar to many, as its first movement uses the same musical material as the overture to Bach’s Fourth Orchestral Suite. With parts for trumpets and timpani it forms as suitably festive an opening to this disc as it must have been to the Christmas Day service in Leipzig almost 300 years ago. BWV57, ‘Blessed is the man’, is rather more introverted, cast in the form of a dialogue between Jesus (bass) and the soul (soprano) – a configuration that appears on numerous occasions in Bach’s cantatas. Christmas being the busiest time of the year for singers and musicians, Bach was probably anxious not to overtax his forces, and the final cantata is of almost chamber-like dimensions. Its opening number, a soprano aria which makes up for almost half of the work’s duration, is nevertheless widely considered to be one of the finest of Bach’s creations. A perennial favourite, this aria (‘Sweet consolation, my Jesus is coming’) was in fact one of the first vocal works by Bach to be recorded, as early as 1929. Here it is the young Czech soprano Hana Blažíková who takes centre stage for the first time in this series, with a wonderfully fresh interpretation. The remaining soloists, Robin Blaze, Gerd Türk and Peter Kooij, and Bach Collegium Japan under Masaaki Suzuki, continue in top form after the recent successes of Volumes 41 (‘Utterly absorbing from start to finish’, BBC Music Magazine) and 40 (‘With Suzuki you can hear Bach's heart beat’, International Record Review).
Choose format
  Johann Sebastian Bach
  Unser Mund sei voll Lachens, BWV110 21'54
01 1. [Chorus]. Unser Mund sei voll Lachens und unsre Zunge… 6'17
02 2. Aria (Tenore). Ihr Gedanken und ihr Sinnen… 3'30
03 3. Recitativo (Basso). Dir, Herr, ist niemand gleich… 0'30
04 4. Aria (Alto). Ach Herr, was ist ein Menschenkind… 3'49
05 5. Duetto (Soprano, Tenore). Ehre sei Gott in der Höhe und Friede auf… 3'23
06 6. Aria (Basso). Wacht auf, ihr Adern und ihr Glieder… 3'45
07 7. Choral. Alleluja! Gelobt sei Gott… 0'40
  Selig ist der Mann, BWV57 22'21
08 1. Aria (Basso). Selig ist der Mann, der die Anfechtung erduldet… 3'46
09 2. Recitativo (Soprano). Ach! dieser süße Trost… 1'19
10 3. Aria (Soprano). Ich wünschte mir den Tod, den Tod… 5'46
11 4. Recitativo (Basso, Soprano). Ich reiche dir die Hand… 0'25
12 5. Aria (Basso). Ja, ja, ich kann die Feinde schlagen… 4'57
13 6. Recitativo (Basso, Soprano). In meiner Schoß liegt Ruh und Leben… 1'32
14 7. Aria (Soprano). Ich ende behände mein irdisches Leben… 3'53
15 8. Choral. Richte dich, Liebste, nach meinem Gefallen und gläube… 0'43
  Süßer Trost, mein Jesus kömmt, BWV151 16'16
16 1. Aria (Soprano). Süßer Trost, mein Jesus kömmt… 8'26
17 2. Recitativo (Basso). Erfreue dich, mein Herz… 1'04
18 3. Aria (Alto). In Jesu Demut kann ich Trost… 5'20
19 4. Recitativo (Tenore). Du teurer Gottessohn… 0'50
20 5. Choral. Heut schleußt er wieder auf die Tür… 0'36
  Album total 62'28
OrchestraBach Collegium Japan
ComposerBach, Johann Sebastian
ConductorSuzuki, Masaaki
TenorTurk (Türk), Gerd
BassKooij, Peter
Counter-tenorBlaze, Robin
SopranoBlažíková, Hana

© BIS Records AB | | Phone +46 (0)8 544 102-30 BIS online store - Terms and Conditions