Search catalogue


J.S. Bach - Cantatas, Vol.46 (BWV 102, 45, 17, 19)

Composer Johann Sebastian Bach
Performer Robin Blaze
Hana Blažíková
Peter Kooij
Gerd Türk
Bach Collegium Japan
Masaaki Suzuki, conductor
Period Baroque
Catalogue Number BIS-1851 SACD
EAN 7318599918518
Format SACD Hybrid

This hybrid disc plays on both CD and SACD players
SACD Surround - SACD Stereo - CD Stereo

Release date May 2010
Total time 76'24

All four works in this volume of Masaaki Suzuki and the Bach Collegium Japan's acclaimed cycle of Bach cantatas come from the second half of 1726. During this period Bach often chose works by other composers for his weekly performances in the Leipzig Thomaskirche, and was therefore able to dedicate more time and effort to those cantatas that he did compose himself. In particular the introductory choruses of the cantatas included here demonstrate this, with their large-scale, almost symphonic conception. The chorus that opens the disc, Herr, deine Augen... from Cantata BWV 102, has a long and multifaceted text which deals with the need for repentance. Bach binds this together in a close-knit structure of recurring themes and motifs, while incorporating fugal sections and passages of a striking, madrigal-like quality. In contrast, the opening chorus of the closing cantata, BWV 19, depicts the victorious struggle of the archangel Michael and his host against Satan, the ‘great dragon', with martial music for which trumpets and timpani are added to the orchestra. Reviews of recent releases in this series have confirmed the consistently high quality of the enterprise. The BBC Music Magazine, for instance, described Volume 45 as ‘superlative – virtually flawless performances of three of Bach's most inspired cantatas.' Similar praise has also met the team's new recording of Bach's motets, which was ‘strongly recommended' in the International Record Review, with the added remark: ‘This beautifully judged recording – is one of the most persuasive available.' The soloists on the present instalment include three seasoned participants in Robin Blaze, Gerd Türk and Peter Kooij. Newer to the cantata series is the soprano Hana Blažíkova, whose first appearance, on Volume 43, was noticed by many reviewers, for instance in Diapason: ‘Blazikova proves to be excellent: her opening aria [Süsser Trost] – exuding a deeply poignant poetry.'
Choose format
  Johann Sebastian Bach
  Herr, deine Augen sehen nach dem Glauben, BWV102 20'31
01 1. [Chorus]. Herr, deine Augen sehen nach dem Glauben! 5'36
02 2. Recitativo (Basso). Wo ist das Ebenbild, das Gott uns eingepräget… 0'58
03 3. Aria (Alto). Weh der Seele, die den Schaden… 5'17
04 4. Arioso (Basso). Verachtest du den Reichtum seiner Gnade… 2'48
05 5. Aria (Tenore). Erschrecke doch… 3'21
06 6. Recitativo (Alto). Beim Warten ist Gefahr… 1'06
07 7. Choral. Heut lebst du, heut bekehre dich… 1'25
  Es ist dir gesagt, Mensch, was gut ist, BWV45 17'18
08 1. [Chorus]. Es ist dir gesagt, Mensch, was gut ist… 5'19
09 2. Recitativo (Tenore). Der Höchste lässt mich seinen Willen wissen… 0'56
10 3. Aria (Tenore). Weiß ich Gottes Rechte… 3'24
11 4. Arioso (Basso). Es werden viele zu mir sagen an jenem Tage… 2'37
12 5. Aria (Alto). Wer Gott bekennt… 3'11
13 6. Recitativo (Alto). So wird denn Herz und Mund… 0'55
14 7. Choral. Gib, dass ich tu mit Fleiß… 0'56
  Wer Dank opfert, der preiset mich, BWV17 14'58
15 1. [Chorus]. Wer Dank opfert, der preiset mich… 4'07
16 2. Recitativo (Alto). Es muss die ganze Welt ein stummer Zeuge werden… 0'59
17 3. Aria (Soprano). Herr, deine Güte reicht, so weit der Himmel ist… 3'05
18 4. Recitativo (Tenore). Einer aber unter ihnen, da er sahe… 0'41
19 5. Aria (Tenore). Welch Übermaß der Güte… 3'11
20 6. Recitativo (Basso). Sieh meinen Willen an, ich kenne, was ich bin… 1'10
21 7. Choral. Wie sich ein Vatr erbarmet… 1'45
  Es erhub sich ein Streit, BWV19 17'38
22 1. [Chorus]. Es erhub sich ein Streit… 4'08
23 2. Recitativo (Basso). Gottlob! der Drache liegt… 0'55
24 3. Aria (Soprano). Gott schickt uns Mahanaim zu… 3'38
25 4. Recitativo (Tenore). Was ist der schnöde Mensch, das Erdenkind? 0'49
26 5. Aria (Tenore). Bleibt, ihr Engel, bleibt bei mir!… 6'10
27 6. Recitativo (Soprano). Lasst uns das Angesicht… 0'37
28 7. Choral. Lass dein’ Engel mit mir fahren… 1'21
  from "Herr, deine Augen sehen nach dem Glauben", BWV102
29 Aria (Tenore). Erschrecke doch… (Traverso version of BWV102/5) 3'24
  Album total 76'24
OrchestraBach Collegium Japan
ComposerBach, Johann Sebastian
ConductorSuzuki, Masaaki
BassKooij, Peter
Counter-tenorBlaze, Robin
TenorTurk (Türk), Gerd
SopranoBlažíková, Hana

© BIS Records AB | | Phone +46 (0)8 544 102-30 BIS online store - Terms and Conditions