Search catalogue


De Profundis - Sacred Music for Male Choir

Composer Anonymous
Franz Xaver Biebl
Bob Chilcott
René Eespere
Nils-Eric Fougstedt
Edvard Grieg
Cyrillus Kreek
Jean Langlais
Andres Lemba
Darius Milhaud
György Orbán
Arvo Pärt
Gioachino Rossini
Sven-David Sandström
August Söderman
Performer Orphei Drängar (OD)
Cecilia Rydinger Alin, conductor
Catalogue Number BIS-2053 SACD
EAN 7318599920535
Format SACD Hybrid

This hybrid disc plays on both CD and SACD players
SACD Surround - SACD Stereo - CD Stereo

Release date Aug 2013
Total time 66'23

Estonia provides both starting point and goal for this disc of sacred music for male choir, with a traditional hymn followed by works by composers such as Kreek, Eespere and Lemba, and the closing De profundis by Arvo Pärt. But in between, Orphei Drängar and their conductor Cecilia Rydinger Alin make a grand tour of Europe, taking in music by composers from the Nordic countries, France, Italy, Central Europe and the UK. Biblical Psalms have provided many of these with their texts, such as Milhaud (in French), Langlais (in English), Kreek (in Estonian) and Pärt (in Latin). Others – Lemba, Söderman, Sandström – have set portions of the text of the Catholic mass. Grieg and Biebl were both inspired by prayers in Latin, while Rossini chose to set one in Italian. For Nattlig madonna ('Nocturnal Madonna') the Finnish composer Nils-Eric Fougtstedt selected a poem depicting the Virgin Mary with her newborn child by his compatriot Edith Södergran, while Bob Chilcott has chosen one by the Guyanese-British poet John Aagard, whose version of John Newton's Amazing Grace gives the background to the conversion of this 18th-century slave-trader turned abolitionist. Throughout a programme ranging from Rossini's Preghiera from c. 1860 to Sven-David Sandström's Sanctus, composed for the choir in 2010, Orphei Drängar and Rydinger Alin once again demonstrate the versatility and exalted standards that habitually causes the choir to be described as the finest male-voice choir in the world.
Choose format
01 Oh Kristus valgus oled sa 5'16
  Cyrillus Kreek
02 Taaveti laul nr.137 6'02
  René Eespere
03 Glorificatio 6'52
  Andres Lemba
04 Gloria 2'38
  August Soderman (Söderman)
05 Kyrie 2'36
  August Soderman (Söderman)
06 Domine 1'57
  Sven-David Sandstrom (Sandström)
07 Sanctus 4'47
  György Orbán
08 Daemon irrepit callidus 1'30
  Edvard Grieg
  Ave Maris Stella
09 Ave maris stella 3'09
  Nils-Eric Fougstedt
10 Nattlig Madonna 1'47
  Franz Xaver Biebl
11 Ave Maria (Angelus Domini) 5'34
  Darius Milhaud
12 Psaume 121 2'52
  Gioacchino Rossini
13 Preghiera 3'05
  Bob Chilcott
14 Newton’s Amazing Grace 5'28
  Jean Langlais
15 Praise the Lord (Psalm 150) 3'45
  Arvo Pärt
  De profundis
16 De profundis 5'50
  Album total 66'23
Biebl, Franz Xaver
Chilcott, Bob
Eespere, René
Fougstedt, Nils-Eric
Grieg, Edvard
Kreek, Cyrillus
Langlais, Jean
Lemba, Andres
Milhaud, Darius
Orbán, György
Pärt, Arvo
Rossini, Gioacchino
Sandstrom (Sandström), Sven-David
Soderman (Söderman), August
ConductorRydinger Alin, Cecilia
Male choirOrphei Drängar (OD), The

© BIS Records AB | | Phone +46 (0)8 544 102-30 BIS online store - Terms and Conditions