Search catalogue


J.S. Bach - Secular Cantatas, Vol.4 (BWV 205, 207)

Composer Johann Sebastian Bach
Performer Robin Blaze
Wolfram Lattke
Joanne Lunn
Bach Collegium Japan
Masaaki Suzuki, conductor
Period Baroque
Catalogue Number BIS-2001 SACD
EAN 7318599920016
Format SACD Hybrid

This hybrid disc plays on both CD and SACD players
SACD Surround - SACD Stereo - CD Stereo

Release date May 2014
Total time 73'04

“So vitalizing and life-affirming is this music and these performances of it that you’re likely to put the disc in your player, press the repeat mode button, and listen to it over and over again. Urgently recommended.” Fanfare

The two works on this disc perfectly illustrate a particular type of secular cantata, the so-called ‘dramma per musica’. In such works the libretto is constructed dramatically, and the singers embody various roles, such as gods and other characters from antiquity, and allegorical figures. The parallel with opera is apparent, although the ‘drammi per musica’ do without any scenic element. Bach primarily used the form in works intended for princely tributes or academic festivities: educated audiences could be expected to recognize the characters and literary traditions involved. Both cantatas recorded here are ‘academic’ cantatas, composed in honour of eminent members of the faculty at the University of Leipzig. BWV 205 celebrates the name day of Dr August Friedrich Müller (3rd August 1725), and takes us to Aeolia, where Aeolus, the King of the Winds, holds the mighty autumn storms captive until it is time to let them loose on the world. To prevent any disruption of the celebrations for Dr Müller, the goddess Pallas, among others, entreats Aeolus to keep the storms in check for a while longer. Grudgingly he concedes to her wish, but only after singing an aria full of splendid bluster (Wie will ich lustig lachen…). One year later, Bach composed the cantata BWV 207 for the appointment of Dr Gottlieb Kortte as ‘professor extraordinarius’. The young jurist enjoyed particular popularity among the young academics, who probably were the commissioners of the cantata. In this work it is virtues such as Diligence and Honour which take musical shape, singing the praise of the eminent academic. The cantata closes with a chorus, Kortte lebe, Kortte blühe!, wishing the new professor a long and flourishing life – unfortunately to little avail, as Dr Kortte died only five years later, at the age of 33.
Choose format
  Johann Sebastian Bach
  Zerreißet, zersprenget, zertrümmert die Gruft, BWV205 38'41
01 1. [Chorus]. Zerreißet, zersprenget, zertrümmert die Gruft… 5'58
02 2. Recitativo (Basso). Ja! ja! Die Stunden sind nunmehro nah… 1'37
03 3. Aria (Basso). Wie will ich lustig lachen… 4'04
04 4. Recitativo (Tenore). Gefürcht’ter Äolus… 0'40
05 5. Aria (Tenore). Frische Schatten, meine Freude… 4'05
06 6. Recitativo (Basso). Beinahe wirst du mich bewegen… 0'35
07 7. Aria (Alto). Können nicht die roten Wangen… 3'42
08 8. Recitativo (Alto, Soprano). So willst du, grimmger Äolus… 0'44
09 9. Aria (Soprano). Angenehmer Zephyrus… 3'30
10 10. Recitativo (Soprano, Basso). Mein Äolus… 2'14
11 11. Aria (Basso). Zurücke, zurücke, geflügelten Winde… 3'30
12 12. Recitativo (Soprano, Alto, Tenore). Was Lust!… 1'28
13 13. Aria (Alto,Tenore). Zweig und Äste… 2'49
14 14. Recitativo (Soprano). Ja, ja! ich lad euch selbst zu dieser Feier ein… 0'39
15 15. Chorus. Vivat August, August vivat… 3'06
  Vereinigte Zwietracht der wechselnden Saiten, BWV207 33'05
16 1. Chorus. Vereinigte Zwietracht der wechselnden Saiten… 4'38
17 2. Recitativo (Tenore). Wen treibt ein edler Trieb zu dem, was Ehre heißt… 1'54
18 3. Aria (Tenore). Zieht euren Fuß nur nicht zurücke… 3'50
19 4. Recitativo (Basso, Soprano). Dem nur allein… 2'00
20 5. Aria Duetto (Basso, Soprano). Den soll mein Lorbeer… 4'52
21 5a. Ritornello 1'08
22 6. Recitativo (Alto). Es ist kein leeres Wort… 1'40
23 7. Aria (Alto). Ätzet dieses Angedenken… 5'19
24 8. Recitativo (Tenore, Basso, Soprano, Alto). Ihr Schläfrigen, herbei… 2'54
25 Anhang: Marche 1'15
26 9. [Chorus]. Kortte lebe, Kortte blühe… 3'35
  Album total 73'04
ComposerBach, Johann Sebastian
ConductorSuzuki, Masaaki
OrchestraBach Collegium Japan
BassWilliams, Roderick
SopranoLunn, Joanne
TenorLattke, Wolfram
Counter-tenorBlaze, Robin

© BIS Records AB | | Phone +46 (0)8 544 102-30 BIS online store - Terms and Conditions