Search catalogue


Rimsky-Korsakov - Orchestral Works

Composer Nikolay Andreyevich Rimsky-Korsakov
Performer Noriko Ogawa
Malaysian Philharmonic Orchestra
Kees Bakels, conductor
Period Romantic
Catalogue Number BIS-1667 CD
EAN 7318591667681
Format CD  –  4 discs
Release date Jul 2007
Total time 300'31

4 CDs for the price of 2

Two recent collections of Russian orchestral music – the Symphonies of Glazunov (BIS-CD-1663/64) and of Rachmaninov (BIS-CD-1665/66) – are here followed by a boxed 4-disc set of orchestral works by Rimsky-Korsakov. The recordings were all made between 2000 and 2002 with the Malaysian Philharmonic Orchestra under their founding principal conductor Kees Bakels, and received much praise at the time of their original releases. The generous selection, at a very advantageous price, contains the composer's 'greatest hits' – the rendition of Sheherazade was called 'a particular joy' by International Record Review – as well as the less commonly-heard three symphonies, in performances which to the reviewer of web site Classics Today proved 'the Malaysian Philharmonic members fully immersed in the composer's unique sound world.' Another rarity is the Piano Concerto in C sharp minor, in which eminent pianist Noriko Ogawa makes an appearance.

The collection also includes a broad sample of the music for the theatre, a field in which Rimsky-Korsakov had some of his greatest successes. Indeed, the disc particularly dedicated to the theatre music caused particular joy to the reviewer on the web site who claimed that the performers 'painted the imaginary musical canvas with a truly wonderful array of highly sophisticated colours'. Besides praising the orchestra and conductor, most reviewers found cause to commend the sound quality of the recordings, as here, on Classics Today: 'The brilliance and realism are simply breathtaking, with a full dynamic range, ideal depth and breadth of soundstage, firm bass, open highs, and a panoramic splendor unrivaled on disc.’
Choose format
Disc 1
  Nikolay Andreyevich Rimsky-Korsakov
  Sheherazade 43'14
01 I. The Sea and Sinbad’s Ship 9'02
02 II. The Tale of the Kalender Prince 12'00
03 III. The Young Prince and the Young Princess 10'22
04 IV. Festival in Baghdad – The Sea – The Ship Goes to Pieces on a Rock Surmounted by a Bronze Warrior – Conclusion 11'50
  Symphony No.2 (Symphonic Suite), ‘Antar’, Op.9 29'38
05 I. Largo – Allegro – Allegretto – Largo 11'29
06 II. Allegro 4'38
07 III. Allegro risoluto 5'22
08 IV. Allegretto – Adagio 8'09
Disc 2
  Nikolay Andreyevich Rimsky-Korsakov
  Capriccio espagnol, Op.34 14'58
01 I. Alborada. Vivo e strepitoso 1'12
02 II. Variazioni. Andante con moto 4'38
03 III. Alborada. Vivo e strepitoso 1'14
04 IV. Scena e canto gitano. Allegretto 4'39
05 V. Fandango asturiano – Coda. Vivace assai – Presto 3'15
06 Piano Concerto in C sharp minor, Op.30 14'06
  The Tale of Tsar Saltan, Suite, Op.57 19'46
07 I. The Tsar’s Farewell and Departure. Allegro – Allegretto alla Marcia 4'44
08 II. The Tsarina in a Barrel at Sea. Allegro – Maestoso 5'51
09 III. The Flight of the Bumble-Bee. Vivace 1'23
10 IV. The Three Wonders. Allegro – Moderato 7'48
11 Sadko, musical picture, Op.5 12'20
12 Russian Easter Festival Overture, Op.36 14'10
Disc 3
  Nikolay Andreyevich Rimsky-Korsakov
01 The Tsar’s Bride, Overture 6'32
  Pan Voyevoda, Suite 22'58
02 I. Introduction. Allegretto 3'33
03 II. Krakowiak. Allegro 3'28
04 III. Nocturne – Claire de Lune. Lento 4'29
05 IV. Mazurka. Tempo di Mazurka – Scherzando 5'06
06 V. Polonaise. Allegretto 6'22
  Christmas Eve, Suite 27'08
07 I. Introduction to Scene 1 3'15
08 II. Introduction to Scene 6 2'20
09 III. Games and Dances of Stars 1'45
10 IV. Procession of the Comet – Round Dance 2'06
11 V. Csárdás and the Rain of Shooting Stars 0'38
12 VI. Devil’s Kolyadka 5'07
13 VII. Polonaise from Scene 7 5'09
14 VIII. [Introduction to Scene 8] 2'55
15 IX. Ovsyen and Kolyada Procession 3'53
16 Overture on Russian Themes, Op.28 11'53
  The Snow Maiden, Suite 13'04
17 I. Prologue. Andante sostenuto 4'24
18 II. Dance of the Birds. Allegro 3'07
19 III. The Procession. Allegro alla Marcia 1'58
20 IV. Dance of the Clowns. Vivace 3'35
Disc 4
  Nikolay Andreyevich Rimsky-Korsakov
  Symphony No.1 in E minor, Op.1 25'11
01 I. Largo assai – Allegro 7'06
02 II. Andante tranquillo 7'25
03 III. Scherzo. Vivace 4'46
04 IV. Allegro assai 5'54
05 Fantasia on Serbian Themes, Op.6 6'46
  Symphony No.3 in C major, Op.32 33'51
06 I. Moderato assai – Allegro 13'16
07 II. Scherzo. Vivo 5'46
08 III. Andante 9'09
09 IV. Allegro con spirito 5'40
  Album total 300'31
ComposerRimsky-Korsakov, Nikolay Andreyevich
OrchestraMalaysian Philharmonic Orchestra
ConductorBakels, Kees
PianoOgawa, Noriko

© BIS Records AB | | Phone +46 (0)8 544 102-30 BIS online store - Terms and Conditions