Search catalogue


Roman - The 12 Flute Sonatas: Nos 6 - 12

Composer Johan Helmich Roman
Performer Dan Laurin
Jonas Nordberg
Mats Olofsson
Anna Paradiso
Paradiso Musicale
Catalogue Number BIS-2155 SACD
EAN 7318599921556
Format SACD Hybrid

This hybrid disc plays on both CD and SACD players
SACD Surround - SACD Stereo - CD Stereo

Release date May 2016
Total time 82'12

played on the recorder by Dan Laurin
In Johan Helmich Roman's lifetime, the recorder was the most common wind instrument in Stockholm, used across the social spectrum – including the Royal music establishment for which the composer was responsible. The transverse flute, on the other hand, was generally the preserve of the upper classes: the nobility and bourgeoisie. Possibly this higher status influenced Roman's choice of instrument for the set of XII Sonate a flauto traverso, violone e cembalo – but that hasn't stopped the celebrated recorder player Dan Laurin from taking up his countryman’s sonatas on his own instrument. In his liner notes, Laurin explains his fascination with Roman's music: 'complex emotional contexts are contrasted with folk music forms such as the villanella or piva – the music is asymmetrical, irregular and full of unexpected twists, sudden pauses and cadences.' In it, he hears the influence of the Italian musicians that Roman met in London during his stay there 1715-1721, and with his fellow musicians in Paradiso Musicale, Laurin opts for an Italianate slant in his performances: continuo settings ranging from harpsichord alone to the full complement including baroque guitar provide great variety in realizations characterized by striking harmonizations. With its ample playing time, the present disc completes Laurin's survey of the sonatas, begun on BIS-2105 with Sonatas 1-5, a disc which received a recommendation on the web site and acclaim in Gramophone: 'Dan Laurin brings all his customary verve and eloquence in pieces whose emotional content is as unpredictable as the sequence of movements.' Together with the companion discs of Roman's 12 keyboard sonatas recorded by Anna Paradiso, the set highlights the inquisitive mind and wide-ranging sensibilities of a composer who, although active in the far north of Europe showed a keen interest in what was happening on the continent.
Choose format
  Johan Helmich Roman
  Sonata VI in B minor, BeRI 206 12'24
01 I. Larghetto 5'19
02 II. Allegro 2'25
03 III. Non troppo allegro 2'05
04 IV. Grave 1'44
05 V. Allegro 0'51
  Sonata VII in G major, BeRI 207 12'48
06 I. Largo 3'26
07 II. Larghetto 6'11
08 III. Lento 1'53
09 IV. Allegro assai 1'18
  Sonata VIII in A major, BeRI 208 11'47
10 I. Largo 3'18
11 II. Allegro 2'09
12 III. Andante 2'18
13 IV. Adagio – Allegro 2'51
14 V. [no tempo marking] 1'11
  Sonata IX in C major, BeRI 209 14'30
15 I. Cantabile 3'49
16 II. Vivace 4'21
17 III. Andante 2'37
18 IV. Allegro 2'20
19 V. Minuetto 1'23
  Sonata X in E minor, BeRI 210 11'15
20 I. Larghetto 2'50
21 II. Andante 2'16
22 III. Piva 2'49
23 IV. Non presto 2'17
24 V. Villanella 1'03
  Sonata XI in G minor, BeRI 211 9'05
25 I. Largo 3'20
26 II. Allegro 2'54
27 III. Larghetto 1'37
28 IV. Allegro 1'14
  Sonata XII in D major, BeRI 212 8'31
29 I. Con spirito 1'28
30 II. Allegro 2'10
31 III. Con affetto 3'03
32 IV. Allegro 1'50
  Album total 82'12
ComposerRoman, Johan Helmich
EnsembleParadiso Musicale
RecorderLaurin, Dan
HarpsichordParadiso, Anna
CelloOlofsson, Mats
Baroque guitar / theorboNordberg, Jonas

© BIS Records AB | | Phone +46 (0)8 544 102-30 BIS online store - Terms and Conditions