Search catalogue


Stenhammar - The String Quartets

Composer Wilhelm Stenhammar
Performer Stenhammar Quartet
Period Romantic
Catalogue Number BIS-2709 SACD
EAN 7318599927091
Format SACD Hybrid

This hybrid disc plays on both CD and SACD players
SACD Surround - SACD Stereo - CD Stereo

  –  3 discs
Release date Feb 2023
Total time 201'01

3 SACDs for the price of 2
Composed between 1894 and 1916 Wilhelm Stenhammar’s body of six numbered string quartets is considered unique among Scandinavian music of its time, both in its consistency and in its musical aspirations. Together, the quartets reflect the composer’s development, from full-blown Romanticism to a more sparse and formally concentrated idiom that distances itself from late-Romantic conventions. &&&

Taking its name from the composer, the Stenhammar Quartet was the first ever to propose a complete traversal of the cycle on CD, including the world première recording of a quartet in F minor that Stenhammar withdrew from his official catalogue after completing it. The series was greeted with great international interest and critical acclaim, both for performances described as ‘exceptional’ (The Guardian) and for the quality of the music itself: ‘there is no doubt that Stenhammar belongs to the unknown great masters of the string quartet genre’ (

« On admire sans réserve la prestation des Stenhammar […]. Le Quatuor boucle une intégrale non seulement exhaustive […] mais surtout de référence. » (Diapason, February 2015)

“The music is as ear-pleasing and emotionally satisfying as anyone could ask for, and the performances by this outstanding Scandinavian ensemble, complemented by BIS’s vibrant SACD recording, make this an unqualified recommendation.” (Fanfare, March/April 2014)

“Das Stenhammar Quartet spielt wie schon auf den beiden vorangehenden CDs mit der Musik seines Namensgebers technisch vollendet, synchron im Ausdruck und mit feiner Klangkultur […]” (, 30. 12. 2014)
Choose format
Disc 1
  Wilhelm Stenhammar
  String Quartet No.1 in C major, Op. 2 32'20
01 I. Allegro 7'32
02 II. Mesto. Sehr einfach, aber mit der innigsten Empfindung vorzutragen 9'17
03 III. Molto tranquillo e commodo - Un pochettino piu leggiero 6'19
04 IV. Allegro energico 9'12
  String Quartet No.2 in C minor, Op. 14 28'29
05 I. Allegro moderato 7'01
06 II. Andante quasi adagio 7'00
07 III. Scherzo. Allegro vivace - Trio. Molto espressivo 6'33
08 IV. Finale. Allegro energico e serioso 7'55
Disc 2
  String Quartet No.4 in A minor, Op.25 33'00
01 I. Allegro ma non troppo 9'14
02 II. Adagio 6'01
03 III. Scherzo. Allegro 6'56
04 IV. Aria variata. Andante semplice 10'49
  Lodolezzi sjunger (Lodolezzi Sings), Op.39 7'22
05 Elegi. Lento 3'23
06 Intermezzo. Allegro agitato 3'59
  String Quartet No.3 in F major, Op.18 31'59
07 I. Quasi andante 8'44
08 II. Presto molto agitato 5'08
09 III. Lento sostenuto 7'18
10 IV. Presto molto agitato - Molto moderato 10'49
Disc 3
  String Quartet No.5 in C major, Op.29, ‘Serenade’ 18'55
01 I. Allegro molto con spirito 5'13
02 II. Ballata. Allegretto scherzando (paraphrase on ‘Finn Komfusenfej') 7'29
03 III. Scherzo. Allegro vivace 1'58
04 IV. Finale. Allegro molto 4'15
  String Quartet in F minor (1897) 20'39
05 I. Allegro 6'14
06 II. Adagio. Con intimissimo sentimento, poco scherzando 6'29
07 III. Allegro giocoso 3'52
08 IV. Allegretto 4'04
  String Quartet No.6 in D minor, Op.35 24'04
09 I. Tempo moderato, sempre un poco rubato 7'12
10 II. Allegro vivace 2'44
11 III. Poco adagio 8'08
12 IV. Presto 6'00
  Album total 201'01
ComposerStenhammar, Wilhelm
String quartetStenhammar Quartet

© BIS Records AB | | Phone +46 (0)8 544 102-30 BIS online store - Terms and Conditions