Search catalogue


Tchaikovsky - Orchestral Works, Symphonies 1-6

Composer Pyotr Il'yich Tchaikovsky
Performer Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra
Neeme Järvi, conductor
Period Romantic
Catalogue Number BIS-1897 CD
EAN 7318591897989
Format CD  –  6 discs
Release date Dec 2010
Total time 452'43

6 CDs for the price of 3

Released as a boxed set of six discs – for the price of two – the cycle of Tchaikovsky's symphonies with Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra conducted by Neeme Järvi, may be described as resolutely unsentimental, with interpretations aiming to rid these popular scores of the melodramatic excesses that have become part of a century-long performance tradition. At the releases of the individual discs, this quality was remarked upon by reviewers, who described Symphony No.1 as 'superb ... liberated from all the slag of sugary romanticism' ( and regarding No.4 wrote 'With immense skill and without any concessions to the pathetic, Neeme Järvi grants the work its full magnitude’ (Le Monde de la Musique). Other acclaimed instalments were Symphony No.2 ‘Little Russian’, hailed in Gramophone as ‘an outstanding performance … beautifully played and paced and immaculately recorded’ and No.3 ‘Polish’ of which, to quote International Record Review, Järvi presented ‘a free-flowing account that places choreographic elegance before symphonic muscle.’ Besides the six numbered symphonies, this ample selection (more than 7 hours of playing time) includes favourites such as Francesca da Rimini, Capriccio italien and Serenade for Strings as well as rarities, including rarely recorded extracts from the opera The Voyevoda and the incidental music to Dmitri the Pretender and Vassily Shuisky. The recordings remain available on the original discs, as Hybrid SACDs with a Surround Sound option.
Choose format
Disc 1
  Pyotr Il'yich Tchaikovsky
  Synphony No.1 in G minor, Op. 13 - Winter Daydreams 39'30
01 I. Allegro tranquillo (Dreams of a Winter Journey) 11'23
02 II. Adagio cantabile, ma non tanto (Land of Desolation, Land of Mists) 9'59
03 III. Scherzo. Allegro scherzando, giocoso 7'27
04 IV. Finale. Andante lugubre - Allegro maestoso 10'41
  The Snow Maiden, Op.12. Orchestral excerpts from the
incidental music to Ostrovsky´s play.
05 Introduction 5'30
06 Entr´acte 1'16
07 Melodrama 4'56
08 Dance of the Buffoons 4'39
09 Romeo and Juliet. Fantasie Overture after Shakespeare 19'29
Disc 2
  Pyotr Il'yich Tchaikovsky
  Symphony No.2 in C minor, Op.17 'Little Russian' (1879 version) 32'25
01 I. Andante sostenuto - Allegro vivo 10'42
02 II. Andantino marziale, quasi moderato 6'19
03 III. Scherzo. Allegro molto vivace 5'00
04 IV. Finale. Moderato assai - Allegro vivo 10'24
05 Overture in F major 11'47
06 Festive Overture on the Danish National Anthem in D major, Op.15 12'09
07 The Storm (Groza), Overture, Op.76, to the drama by Alexander Ostrovsky 14'37
Disc 3
  Pyotr Il'yich Tchaikovsky
  Symphony No. 3 in D major, ‘Polish’, Op. 29 (1875) 42'19
01 I. Introduzione e Allegro 13'00
02 II. Alla tedesca. Allegro moderato e semplice 6'30
03 III. Andante elegiaco 8'14
04 IV. Scherzo. Allegro vivo – Trio. L’istesso tempo 5'59
05 V. Finale. Allegro con fuoco (Tempo di Polacca) 8'36
  from the opera The Voyevoda, Op. 3 (1867–68)
06 Entr’acte and Dances of the Chambermaids 9'51
  Dmitri the Pretender and Vassily Shuisky (1866–67) 6'34
07 Introduction to Act I. Andante non troppo 3'48
08 Mazurka. 8 [Tempo giusto] 2'46
09 Serenade for Nikolai Rubinstein’s Name Day 3'12
  from Eugene Onegin, Op. 24 (1879) 12'50
10 Entr’acte and Waltz 7'48
11 Polonaise 5'02
Disc 4
  Pyotr Il'yich Tchaikovsky
  Symphony No.4 in F minor, Op.36 42'53
01 I. Andante sostenuto – Moderato con anima 18'27
02 II. Andantino in modo di canzona 9'44
03 III. Scherzo. Pizzicato ostinato. Allegro 5'37
04 IV. Finale. Allegro con fuoco 9'05
  Serenade for Strings in C major, Op.48 28'47
05 I. Pezzo in forma di Sonatina. Andante non troppo – Allegro moderato 9'51
06 II. Walzer. Moderato 3'56
07 III. Élégie. Larghetto elegiaco 9'10
08 IV. Finale (Tema russo). Andante – Allegro con spirito 5'50
09 Elegy in Memory of I.V. Samarin for string orchestra 5'50
Disc 5
  Pyotr Il'yich Tchaikovsky
  Symphony No.5 in E minor, Op.64 46'31
01 I. Andante - Allegro con anima 15'33
02 II. Andante cantabile, con alcuna licenza 13'07
03 III. Valse. Allegro moderato 5'58
04 IV. Finale. Andante maestoso - Allegro vivace 11'53
05 The Voyevoda, symphonic ballad, Op.78 13'00
06 Capriccio Italien, Op.45 15'28
Disc 6
  Pyotr Il'yich Tchaikovsky
  Symphony No.6 in B minor (Pathétique), Op.74 43'03
01 I. Adagio - Allegro non troppo 16'39
02 II. Allegro con grazia 7'42
03 III. Allegro molto vivace 9'08
04 IV. Adagio lamentoso 9'34
05 Francesca da Rimini, Fantasy for Orchestra, Op.32 24'48
  Album total 452'43
ComposerTchaikovsky, Pyotr Il'yich
OrchestraGothenburg Symphony Orchestra
ConductorJärvi, Neeme

© BIS Records AB | | Phone +46 (0)8 544 102-30 BIS online store - Terms and Conditions