Search catalogue


J.S. Bach - Secular Cantatas, Vol. 10 (BWV 30a, 204)

Composer Johann Sebastian Bach
Performer Robin Blaze
Makoto Sakurada
Carolyn Sampson
Dominik Wörner
Bach Collegium Japan
Masaaki Suzuki, conductor
Period Baroque
Catalogue Number BIS-2351 SACD
EAN 7318599923512
Format SACD Hybrid

This hybrid disc plays on both CD and SACD players
SACD Surround - SACD Stereo - CD Stereo

Release date Aug 2018
Total time 66'11

Final disc in the series

The two cantatas recorded here conclude a project that the Bach Collegium Japan and Masaaki Suzuki started in 2004, in which Bach’s secular cantatas formed the basis of numerous concerts and recordings. As the team completed recording the church cantatas in 2013, this means that BCJ’s performances of all of Bach’s extant cantatas – sacred and secular – are now available on disc. Out of what was originally a much larger number only a little more than twenty secular cantatas have survived in performable condition. These nevertheless offer a welcome complement to our image of Bach the church musician, and reveal a composer who approached secular music with the same artistic integrity that we find in his sacred music.

This final volume opens with the resplendent Angenehmes Wiederau from 1737 – a musical memorial to the manorial estate of Wiederau, south-west of Leipzig. Bach employs a full complement of three trumpets and timpani as well as four vocal soloists, in what is surprisingly modern-sounding music, influence by the dance-based music of the Dresden court. In contrast, Ich bin in mir vergnügt is an intimate work for solo soprano, flute, oboe and strings. Composed for an unknown occasion, the piece is a morality about the virtues of contentment, illustrated in music that gives Carolyn Sampson ample opportunity to shine.
Choose format
  Angenehmes Wiederau, freue dich in deinen Auen, BWV30a 35'32
01 1. Chorus. Angenehmes Wiederau… 3'53
02 2. Recitativo (Basso, Soprano, Alto, Tenore). So ziehen wir… 0'53
03 3. Aria (Basso).Willkommen im Heil, willkommen in Freuden… 4'22
04 4. Recitativo (Alto). Da heute dir, gepriesner Hennicke… 0'36
05 5. Aria (Alto). Was die Seele kann ergötzen… 5'54
06 6. Recitativo (Basso). Und wie ich jederzeit bedacht… 0'38
07 7. Aria (Basso). Ich will dich halten… 5'44
08 8. Recitativo (Soprano). Und obwohl sonst der Unbestand… 0'55
09 9. Aria (Soprano). Eilt, ihr Stunden, wie ihr wollt… 4'15
10 10. Recitativo (Tenore). So recht! ihr seid mir werte Gäste… 0'42
11 11. Aria (Tenore). So, wie ich die Tropfen zolle… 2'31
12 12. Recitativo (Soprano, Alto, Tenore, Basso). Drum, angenehmes Wiederau… 1'16
13 13. Chorus. Angenehmes Wiederau… 3'53
  Ich bin in mir vergnügt, BWV204 29'50
14 1. Recitativo. Ich bin in mir vergnügt… 1'35
15 2. Aria. Ruhig und in sich zufrieden… 6'45
16 3. [Recitativo]. Ihr Seelen, die ihr außer euch… 2'01
17 4. Aria. Die Schätzbarkeit der weiten Erden… 4'44
18 5. Recitativo. Schwer ist es zwar, viel Eitles zu besitzen… 1'55
19 6. [Aria]. Meine Seele sei vergnügt… 6'48
20 7. Recitativo e Arioso. Ein edler Mensch ist Perlenmuscheln gleich… 2'08
21 8. Aria. Himmlische Vergnügsamkeit… 3'54
  Album total 66'11
EnsembleBach Collegium Japan
ConductorSuzuki, Masaaki
SopranoSampson, Carolyn
Counter-tenorBlaze, Robin
TenorSakurada, Makoto
BassWörner, Dominik

© BIS Records AB | | Phone +46 (0)8 544 102-30 BIS online store - Terms and Conditions