Search catalogue


Gringolts Quartet

The Zurich-based Gringolts Quartet was founded in 2008, born from mutual friendships and chamber music partnerships that cross four countries: over the years, the Russian violinist Ilya Gringolts, the Romanian violist Silvia Simionescu and the Armenian violinist Anahit Kurtikyan frequently performed together in various chamber formations at distinguished festivals; the German cellist Claudius Herrmann played with Anahit Kurtikyan in the renowned Amati Quartet.The quartet has collaborated with eminent artists such as Leon Fleisher, Jörg Widmann, David Geringas, Malin Hartelius, Christian Poltéra and Eduard Brunner. In addition to playing the classical quartet repertoire, the members are also dedicated performers of contemporary music, including works by Marc-André Dalbavie, Jörg Widmann and Jens Joneleit. Highlights from past seasons include performances at the Salzburg, Lucerne and Gstaad Menuhin Festivals, St Petersburg Philharmonia, L’Auditori Barcelona, Oleg Kagan Musikfest in Kreuth, Sociedad Filarmónica de Bilbao, Società dei Concerti in Milan and the Kasseler Musiktage.

The members of the Gringolts Quartet all play on rare Italian instruments. Ilya Gringolts plays a Giuseppe Guarneri ‘del Gesù’ (1742–43), Anahit Kurtikyan plays a Camillo Camilli violin (Mantua 1733), and Silvia Simionescu plays a Jacobus Januarius viola (Cremona 1660). The cello of Claudius Herrmann was built by Giovanni Paolo Maggini in Brescia in 1600 – an instrument once owned by Prince Galitsin, and used at the first performances of three of Beethoven’s last quartets, commissioned by the Prince.

For further information please visit the quartet's website

Schoenberg - String Quartets Nos 1 & 3
Mendelssohn & Enescu - Octets
Schoenberg - String Quartets Nos 2 & 4
"this is yet another BIS triumph" MusicWeb International
Taneyev & Glazunov - String Quintets
© BIS Records AB | | Phone +46 (0)8 544 102-30 BIS online store - Terms and Conditions