Search catalogue


Bach - The Lute Suites

Composer Johann Sebastian Bach
Performer Franz Halász
Period Baroque
Catalogue Number BIS-2285 SACD
EAN 7318599922850
Format SACD Hybrid

This hybrid disc plays on both CD and SACD players
SACD Surround - SACD Stereo - CD Stereo

Release date Jun 2019
Total time 82'45

The universal appeal of the music of Johannes Sebastian Bach is such that most musicians, regardless of their instrument, long to play it. As a consequence, his works are constantly being arranged for other instruments – following a practice that Bach himself excelled at, repeatedly reworking his own music as well as that of others. A case in point are the four so-called lute suites,&&& all of which now belong to the standard repertoire of most concert guitarists. To what extent they were originally composed for a plucked instrument has always been a matter of contention and has given rise to many hypotheses. They hail from various periods in Bach’s career, and range from youthful elan (BWV 996) by way of the zenith of artistic creativity (BWV 995, 1006a) to serene maturity (BWV 997). For this recording, Franz Halász has himself transcribed two of the suites, performing the others in arrangements by Ansgar Krause. For reasons of practicality, the suites in G minor and C minor are usually transposed when played on the guitar, but the present arrangements have made it possible to record all four works in their original keys for the first time on the guitar. An unusually generous playing time furthermore allows them to be collected on a single disc. Franz Halász appears on a number of acclaimed discs for BIS, in a wide-ranging repertoire including Bach’s three sonatas for solo violin, which he, according to one reviewer makes ‘entirely his own’ (BBC Music Magazine).
Choose format
  Johann Sebastian Bach
  Suite in G minor, BWV 995 (arr. F. Halász) 23'40
01 Prelude 5'21
02 Allemande 5'37
03 Courante 2'18
04 Sarabande 2'42
05 Gavottes I & II 5'03
06 Gigue 2'39
  Suite (Partita) in C minor, BWV 997 (arr. Ansgar Krause) 21'13
07 Prelude (Fantasia) 3'18
08 Fugue 7'04
09 Sarabande 4'47
10 Gigue - Double 6'04
  Suite (Partita) in E major, BWV 1006 (arr. Ansgar Krause) 19'28
11 Prelude 3'41
12 Loure 3'35
13 Gavotte en Rondeau 3'11
14 Menuets I & II 5'06
15 Bourrée 1'52
16 Gigue 2'03
  Suite in E minor, BWV 996 (arr. F. Halász) 16'34
17 Prelude 2'39
18 Allemande 3'12
19 Courante 2'34
20 Sarabande 3'51
21 Bourrée 1'19
22 Gigue 2'59
  Album total 82'45
GuitarHalász, Franz
ComposerBach, Johann Sebastian
ArrangerHalász, Franz
Krause, Ansgar

© BIS Records AB | | Phone +46 (0)8 544 102-30 BIS online store - Terms and Conditions