Search catalogue


Rautavaara - Vigilia

Composer Einojuhani Rautavaara
Performer Helsinki Chamber Choir
Nils Schweckendiek, conductor
Period Contemporary
Catalogue Number BIS-2422 SACD
EAN 7318599924229
Format SACD Hybrid

This hybrid disc plays on both CD and SACD players
SACD Surround - SACD Stereo - CD Stereo

Release date Sep 2019
Total time 70'04

In 1971, Einojuhani Rautavaara was asked to compose a Finnish Orthodox church service, an all-night vigil similar to that of Rachmaninov, comprising Vespers as well as Matins. Soon after the first performance he reshaped the music into what we now know as Vigilia, a concert version forming a musical whole. As his inspiration, Rautavaara has himself described a visit to the Valamo monastery in the middle of &&&Lake Ladoga in 1939: ‘The bells began to ring, low-pitched booms and higher, shrill clinks: the world was filled with sounds and colours…’

The music is marked by dark colours, the heady smell of incense and the crepuscular church lit only by small candles. Divided into two parts, Vespers and Matins, the 70-minute work consists of 34 sections, and features prominent parts for a bass and a tenor soloist, as well as a number of solo voices emerging from the mixed choir. The work is enriched by the constantly changing combinations of choir and soloists, the perspective shifting from the personal to the universal. It is here performed by the 21-strong Helsinki Chamber Choir, under its artistic director Nils Schweckendiek – a team that has made several recordings for BIS in recent years. These include Riemuitkaamme!, a Christmas disc (‘Schweckendiek’s immaculately blended singers make a glorious noise’, The Arts Desk), as well as a two-disc survey of the choral works of Finnish modernist Erik Bergman (‘The Helsinki choir produces a radiant sound throughout’, Choir & Organ).
Choose format
  Einojuhani Rautavaara
  Ehtoopalvelus / Vespers 32'20
01 O come, let us worship God 0'53
02 Psalm 103 2'31
03 1st Katisma 2'29
04 Psalm of Invocation 2'05
05 Sticheron of Invocation 4'08
06 Sticheron to the Mother of God 2'16
07 Evening Hymn 2'26
08 Ekteniya 1'22
09 Sticheron of the Litany 2'50
10 Ekteniya of the Litany 2'43
11 Sticheron 1'11
12 Troparion 3'01
13 Troparion of the Feast 2'44
14 Final Blessing 1'41
  Aamupalvelus / Matins 37'48
15 Glory to the Holy consubstantial 0'37
16 Troparion 1'47
17 Troparion 1'31
18 Hymn of Praise 0'34
19 Troparion of the Resurrection 5'19
20 Antiphon 2'19
21 Prokeimenon 1'19
22 Hymn of the Resurrection 3'35
23 Canon: 1st Irmos 1'03
24 3rd Irmos 0'45
25 4th Irmos 1'04
26 5th Irmos 2'09
27 6th Irmos 1'06
28 7th Irmos 0'49
29 8th Irmos 0'37
30 Katabasis: Hymn of Thanksgiving of the Mother of God 5'23
31 9th Irmos 1'31
32 Sticheron of Thanksgiving 1'45
33 Troparion of the Resurrection 2'32
34 Final Blessing 2'03
  Album total 70'04
ComposerRautavaara, Einojuhani
ConductorSchweckendiek, Nils
PerformerHelsinki Chamber Choir

© BIS Records AB | | Phone +46 (0)8 544 102-30 BIS online store - Terms and Conditions