Search catalogue


Bach - Sonatas and Partitas

Composer Johann Sebastian Bach
Performer Jaakko Kuusisto
Period Baroque
Catalogue Number BIS-2197 SACD
EAN 7318599921976
Format SACD Hybrid

This hybrid disc plays on both CD and SACD players
SACD Surround - SACD Stereo - CD Stereo

  –  2 discs
Release date Feb 2019
Total time 141'29

There are many questions surrounding Johann Sebastian Bach’s ‘Six Solos for violin’, or the Sonatas and Partitas for solo violin, as they are usually called today. When did he compose them, and why, and for whom? In what circumstances were they performed? And why would a master of polyphony choose to write for a melody instrument with limited scope for polyphony or chords? We can only guess&&& at the answers – which makes the works all the more fascinating. The legendary violinist George Enescu famously described the set as ‘the Himalayas of violinists’, but for more than 200 years they were primarily regarded as pedagogical exercises rather than compositions worthy of the concert hall. Felix Mendelssohn and Robert Schumann tried to popularize them by making versions with piano accompaniment, while Busoni did away with the violin altogether in his transcription of the famous Chaconne from Partita No. 2. But since Yehudi Menuhin made the first complete recording of the Sonatas and Partitas, between 1929 and 1936, they have become a staple during violin recitals, on disc and in concert. Fascinating performers and audiences alike with their architectural perfection as well as their emotional range, these are works that lend themselves to very different interpretations, and on this recording it is the Bach of Finnish violinist Jaakko Kuusisto we hear. Himself a composer – as well as violinist and conductor – Kuusisto remembers beginning to study individual movements from the set at the age of ten. The music has been with him ever since, and to him ‘no other works for the violin provide a higher challenge or greater beauty’.
Choose format
Disc 1
  Johann Sebastian Bach
  Sonata No.1 in G minor, BWV 1001 15'19
01 Adagio 4'00
02 Fuga: Allegro 5'03
03 Siciliana 2'50
04 Presto 3'26
  Partita No.1 in B minor, BWV 1002 30'07
05 Allemanda 5'00
06 Double 4'00
07 Corrente 3'18
08 Double. Presto 3'38
09 Sarabanda 4'16
10 Double 3'26
11 Bourrée 3'29
12 Double 3'00
  Sonata No.2 in A minor, BWV 1003 22'54
13 Grave 4'37
14 Fuga 7'19
15 Andante 4'56
16 Allegro 6'02
Disc 2
  Johann Sebastian Bach
  Partita No.2 in D minor, BWV 1004 29'32
01 Allemanda 4'56
02 Corrente 2'41
03 Sarabanda 4'43
04 Giga 3'50
05 Ciaconna 13'22
  Sonata No.3 in C major, BWV 1005 22'31
06 Adagio 4'33
07 Fuga 9'38
08 Largo 3'33
09 Allegro assai 4'47
  Partita No.3 in E major, BWV 1006 18'17
10 Preludio 3'50
11 Loure 3'56
12 Gavotte en rondeau 2'55
13 Menuet I – Menuet II 4'17
14 Bourrée 1'31
15 Gigue 1'48
  Album total 141'29
ComposerBach, Johann Sebastian
ViolinKuusisto, Jaakko

© BIS Records AB | | Phone +46 (0)8 544 102-30 BIS online store - Terms and Conditions