Search catalogue


Peter Mattei sings Schubert’s Winterreise

Composer Franz Schubert
Performer Peter Mattei
Lars David Nilsson
Period Romantic
Catalogue Number BIS-2444 SACD
EAN 7318599924441
Format SACD Hybrid

This hybrid disc plays on both CD and SACD players
SACD Surround - SACD Stereo - CD Stereo

Release date Sep 2019
Total time 68'35

Peter Mattei has won great acclaim as a singer with unusual dramatic gifts, appearing on the world’s leading stages in complex operatic roles such as Don Giovanni, Billy Budd and Eugene Onegin. On the present disc he takes on a no less complex character in the Lieder canon: the traveller in Schubert’s Winterreise. In this cycle, Schubert returned to the poet Wilhelm Müller, whose poems he had set some years earlier, in his other great song cycle, Die schöne Müllerin. Müller’s texts revolve around a young man who after being rejected leaves his village and heads into the desolate, snowy countryside. In the course of the cycle he experiences loss and an aching loneliness interrupted by fleeting glimpses of hope, but ultimately the landscape through which he is moving is coloured by alienation and despair.

Müller died thirty-two years old in 1827, the very year in which Winterreise was composed – and Schubert himself died the following year, still making revisions to the last of the songs while on his deathbed. When Schubert invited his closest friends to a gathering in order to listen to the cycle he called the songs ‘gruesome’, and according to one witness the audience was shocked by their sombre mood. In this recording, Mattei brings all his interpretive skills to bear. He is supported by the piano of Lars David Nilsson, which reinforces the different moods and characters of the twenty-four songs and often assumes the role of a narrator, alongside the singer.
Choose format
  Franz Schubert
  Winterreise, D 911 67'26
01 Gute Nacht 5'34
02 Die Wetterfahne 1'36
03 Gefrorne Tränen 2'19
04 Erstarrung 2'45
05 Der Lindenbaum 4'44
06 Wasserflut 4'04
07 Auf dem Flusse 3'09
08 Rückblick 2'04
09 Irrlicht 2'37
10 Rast 2'58
11 Frühlingstraum 3'44
12 Einsamkeit 2'30
13 Die Post 1'59
14 Der greise Kopf 2'55
15 Die Krähe 2'13
16 Letzte Hoffnung 1'47
17 Im Dorfe 3'01
18 Der stürmische Morgen 0'51
19 Täuschung 1'16
20 Der Wegweiser 3'59
21 Das Wirtshaus 4'04
22 Mut! 1'15
23 Die Nebensonnen 2'37
24 Der Leiermann 3'25
  Album total 68'35
ComposerSchubert, Franz
PerformerMattei, Peter
PianoNilsson, Lars David

© BIS Records AB | | Phone +46 (0)8 544 102-30 BIS online store - Terms and Conditions