Search catalogue


Jonas Nordberg

One of the most sought-after lutenists of today, Jonas Nordberg studied at the Salzburg Mozarteum and the Royal College of Music, Stockholm. He plays a wide range of plucked instruments in repertoire ranging from the early sixteenth to mid-eighteenth century, and also works closely with contemporary composers commissioning new works. As a soloist and chamber musician he has performed at major venues in more than 20 countries, including the Philharmonie de Paris, Stockholm Concert Hall, Kioi Hall Tokyo, Wigmore Hall (London), BAM New York, Mozarteum Salzburg and the Shanghai Oriental Arts Centre. Praised for an artistry that is at turns dynamic, playful and lyrical, Jonas Nordberg has worked with chamber music partners such as Ruby Hughes, Liam Byrne, Nathalie Stutzmann and Dan Laurin, and has collaborated with the choreographer Kenneth Kvarnström in stage works touring major European venues. As a continuo player he has appeared with orchestras including Concerto Köln, Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment, Concerto Copenhagen, Drottningholm Baroque Ensemble, Orfeo55 and Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra.

Jonas Nordberg’s previous recordings for BIS include Heroines of Love and Loss with soprano Ruby Hughes and cellist Mime Yamahiro Brinkmann (Diapason d’Or and Editor’s Choice in Gramophone) and music by Vivaldi and J. H. Roman with recorder virtuoso Dan Laurin. His work has been broadcast on Swedish television and radio, as well as internationally by the BBC, Deutschlandfunk, NHK Japan and other broadcasters.

For more information, please visit Jonas Nordberg's website.


Lessons - Lute Music by John Dowland
Kapsperger - Intavolatura di chitarone
Heroines of Love and Loss
Vocal chamber music of the early Baroque
Roman - The 12 Flute Sonatas: Nos 6 - 12
played on the recorder by Dan Laurin
Vivaldi - Recorder Concertos
Roman - The 12 Flute Sonatas: Nos 1 - 5
played on the recorder by Dan Laurin
© BIS Records AB | | Phone +46 (0)8 544 102-30 BIS online store - Terms and Conditions