Search catalogue


Kapsperger - Intavolatura di chitarone

Composer Giovanni Girolamo Kapsperger
Performer Jonas Nordberg
Period Renaissance
Catalogue Number BIS-2417 SACD
EAN 7318599924175
Format SACD Hybrid

This hybrid disc plays on both CD and SACD players
SACD Surround - SACD Stereo - CD Stereo

Release date Aug 2019
Total time 69'45

At the end of the 16th century, the pursuit of greater, more vivid expressivity dominated music-making all across Italy, taking madrigals and other vocal ensemble forms as its starting point but soon going on to explore the possibilities offered by solo singing. For some decades the theorbo (or chitarone, as it was also called) was regarded as the ideal instrument for accompanying singers, &&&but as a leading exponent of the instrument Giovanni Girolamo Kapsperger soon also established it as a solo instrument in its own right. Of German descent, Kapsperger published his first book of solo pieces for the theorbo in 1604 and went on to enjoy a successful career in Rome, contributing to the monumental cultural programme of Pope Urban VIII. There he moved in intellectual circles, particularly that of the scientist Galileo Galilei.

During the 1630s things became quiet for Kapsperger, possibly a side effect of Galilei’s conviction for heresy in 1633. Not until 1640 did his last known volume of theorbo pieces appear, the number four in its title indicating that two books have been lost. A particularly attractive aspect of Kapsperger’s music for the theorbo is the marked contrasts between dramatic and impetuous toccatas, straightforward, ‘no-nonsense’ passacaglias and rhythmically refined but simply constructed dance movements such as galliards. These are here all made to sound under the fingers of Jonas Nordberg, sought-after as soloist as well as ensemble musician, performing on a wide range of plucked instruments including the lute, guitar and theorbo. On BIS he has previously appeared on the acclaimed album Heroines with soprano Ruby Hughes and in chamber works with recorder player Dan Laurin.
Choose format
  Giovanni Girolamo Kapsperger
  From Libro quarto d’intavolatura di chitarone 26'00
01 Toccata prima 6'40
02 Passacaglia [prima] 3'53
03 Gagliarda prima 1'33
04 Canzone prima 3'33
05 Toccata 2da 2'52
06 Passacaglia [2da] 3'22
07 Gagliarda 8va 1'30
08 Canario 2'37
  Aria di Fiorenza, from Libro primo d’intavolatura di chitarone 12'03
09 Aria 1'19
10 Partita 1a 1'14
11 Partita 2a 1'12
12 Partita 3a 1'08
13 Partita 4a 1'15
14 Partita 5a 1'15
15 Partita 6a 1'18
16 Partita 7a 1'12
17 Partita 8va in tripla 1'08
18 Partita 9a 1'02
  From Libro quarto d’intavolatura di chitarone  12'13
19 Toccata 9na 1'37
20 Passacaglia [4ta] 3'32
21 Gagliarda [7ma] 2'08
22 Toccata 5ta 1'56
23 Gagliarda 11a 1'23
24 Gagliarda 12a 1'37
  Ballo primo, from Libro quarto d’intavolatura di chitarone 4'31
25 Uscita 0'54
26 Ballo 0'56
27 Gagliarda 1'23
28 Corrente 1'18
29 Toccata Arpeggiata, from Libro quarto d’intavolatura di chitarone 2'34
30 Battaglia, from Libro quarto d’intavolatura di chitarone 8'07
31 Kapsperger, from Libro quarto d’intavolatura di chitarone 2'25
  Album total 69'45
TheorboNordberg, Jonas
ComposerKapsperger, Giovanni Girolamo

© BIS Records AB | | Phone +46 (0)8 544 102-30 BIS online store - Terms and Conditions