Search catalogue


Sigismond Thalberg - L’art du chant

Composer Sigismond Thalberg
Performer Paul Wee
Period Romantic
Catalogue Number BIS-2515 SACD
EAN 7318599925158
Format SACD Hybrid

This hybrid disc plays on both CD and SACD players
SACD Surround - SACD Stereo - CD Stereo

  –  2 discs
Release date Nov 2020
Total time 139'11

International lawyer by day and piano virtuoso by night, Paul Wee made his recording début in 2019 with some of the most technically demanding piano music there is: Alkan’s Symphony and Concerto for solo piano. He now returns with music which presents a different, but not lesser challenge: how make the keyboard sing. The piano is by nature a percussive instrument – the sound is created by little&&& hammers falling on strings. To create a true legato – or the illusion of it – has been the aim of generations of pianists, but few have taken the matter as far as Sigismond Thalberg.

A giant in nineteenth-century pianism, Thalberg was born in 1812, the year after Franz Liszt, his greatest rival on the international concert circuit. In comparison to the latter, Thalberg was often singled out for his ability to make the piano sing, an art which he himself highlighted in a collection of transcriptions aptly named The Art of Singing Applied to the Piano. Published between 1853 and 1863, the collection included Thalberg’s adaptations of popular arias by Bellini, Rossini and Weber and songs by Beethoven and Schubert, but also other vocal works, such as Lacrimosa from Mozart’s Requiem. This nowadays little-known but fascinating chapter in the history of pianism is presented by Paul Wee, together with a substantial booklet which includes his own liner notes as well as Thalberg’s foreword, with the master’s advice to those who want their keyboards to sing.
Choose format
Disc 1
  Sigismond Thalberg
  L’art du chant appliqué au piano, Op. 70 120'49
01 No. 1 A te, o cara (quartet from Bellini’s I Puritani) 5'10
02 No. 2 Tre Giorni (Pergolesi) 5'23
03 No. 3 Adelaïde (Beethoven) 6'26
04 No. 4 Pietà, signore (attr. Stradella) 9'07
05 No. 5a Lacrimosa (from Mozart’s Requiem) 3'44
06 No. 5b Sull’aria (from Mozart’s Marriage of Figaro) 3'16
07 No. 6 Perchè mi guardi e piangi (from Rossini’s Zelmira) 5'50
08 No. 7 Bella adorate incognita (from Mercadante’s Il Giuramento) 5'51
09 No. 8 Nel silenzio fra l’orror (from Meyerbeer’s Il Crociato) 4'55
10 No. 9 Einsam bin ich nicht alleine (from Weber’s Preciosa) 3'12
11 No. 10 Der Müller und der Bach (from Schubert’s Die schöne Müllerin) 4'29
12 No. 11 Schelm, halt fest! (from Weber’s Der Freischütz) 3'55
13 No. 12 Il mio tesoro (from Mozart’s Don Giovanni) 4'50
Disc 2
01 No. 13 Sérénade (from Rossini’s Barber of Seville) 3'45
02 No. 14 La dove prende (from Mozart’s Magic Flute) 3'56
03 No. 15 Barcarolle (from Donizetti’s Gianni di Calais) 6'50
04 No. 16a Protegga il giusto cielo (from Mozart’s Don Giovanni) 3'38
05 No. 16b Là ci darem la mano (from Mozart’s Don Giovanni) 3'31
06 No. 17 Sérénade (from Grétry’s L’amant jaloux) 3'18
07 No. 18 Assisa a’ piè d’un salice (from Rossini’s Otello) 5'08
08 No. 19 Casta diva (from Bellini’s Norma) 6'18
09 No. 20 Voi che sapete (from Mozart’s Marriage of Figaro) 2'48
10 No. 21 Fröhliche Klänge, Tänze, Gesänge (from Weber’s Euryanthe) 4'18
11 No. 22 Dafydd y garreg wen (ancient bardic aria) 3'15
12 No. 23 Ein Mädchen, das auf Ehre hielt (from Haydn’s Seasons) 4'10
13 No. 24 Fenesta vascia (Neapolitan song) 3'46
  Three Schubert Lieder transcribed for solo piano, Op. 79a 7'48
14 Täuschung (from Winterreise) 1'23
15 Der Neugierige (from Die schöne Müllerin) 4'10
16 Die Post (from Winterreise) 2'15
17 Auf Flügeln des Gesanges (Mendelssohn) 2'58
  No. 3 from Ten Piano Pieces, Op. 36
18 Mi manca la voce (from Rossini’s Mose in Egitto) 3'39
  Album total 139'11
ComposerThalberg, Sigismond
PianoWee, Paul

© BIS Records AB | | Phone +46 (0)8 544 102-30 BIS online store - Terms and Conditions